Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude (eXp Realty of California, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,176,910
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

YES! My FREE account gets me a closed escrow almost once per year from a few leads per year.

 

NEVER pay for YELP.com, the public knows the paid ads, only trusts the unpaid accounts with good reviews...that I got from several callers over the years!

Apr 21, 2017 05:21 PM
Rainmaker
5,364,641
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Jeff,

Personally, I would stay away from Yelp, and just today we advised someone to do so.  A

Apr 21, 2017 04:15 PM
Ambassador
3,000,915
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Can I say .... HELL NO!!!! 

I want nothing to do with that yapping dog company.  Anyone can write a crap review and it will stay there.  By anyone, I mean someone you (1) don't know (2) they don't know you (3) you have never done business with them. Yes. it is true. And the company won't remove it. Why invite the crazies to a smorgasbord on my good name and reputation?  

Carla Muss-Jacobs, Principal Broker (503) 810-7192 has had several really bad experiences with the "yapping dog" company.  Horrible. You get a call on your cell phone from some random person you don't know ... let's say they found you online. They want to see 123 Easy Street RIGHT NOW. You can't show it RIGHT NOW. You explain you have appointments, etc. and would like to schedule time.  That person is upset. The go to the yapping dog site and write a horrible review.  It happens.  The yapping dog wants you to pay to have it removed.  You have got to be FN kidding me.  

WHO LET THE DOGS OUT?!?! 

Apr 21, 2017 05:09 PM
Rainer
213,163
Dennis Swartz
Full Circle Property Management - Columbus, OH
MBA, GRI...experience counts!

Yelp is for ranting and crazies- i get enough yelling without that. I feel bad for the poor business that makes one mistake.

Apr 22, 2017 04:24 AM
Ambassador
1,800,883
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
A moving experience!

I am getting results from Yelp, but not paying for the exposure.  I just ask my clients to give me testimonials.

Apr 21, 2017 04:47 PM
Rainmaker
5,570,642
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

no, I don't use yelp.... I don't want to use another site.... I'm booked!!!

Apr 21, 2017 04:25 PM
Ambassador
2,545,439
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

 Yelp won a court case allowing them to rig the reviews.

Apr 21, 2017 04:20 PM
Rainmaker
3,904,852
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I have a Yelp account.... don't really get anything from it and won't pay to generate leads from it... 

Apr 22, 2017 05:06 AM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Jeff Dowler - so far, not used it. Not likely to use it, either.

Apr 21, 2017 10:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,718,490
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

No

Apr 21, 2017 06:55 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,771
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I do not and have not heard of many people raving about any site they are paying big money for that pans out

Apr 21, 2017 06:34 PM
Ambassador
5,211,900
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Never used it other than to look up a restaurant.

Apr 21, 2017 05:13 PM
Ambassador
3,986,518
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I checked into it after attending a technology seminar and decided it wasn't for me or where I wanted to be found. Someone younger may find it very valuable.

Apr 21, 2017 04:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,018,191
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Have not tried it or seen the need for it!

Apr 21, 2017 03:58 PM
Rainmaker
526,860
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

I have heard of it being very important to some agents and a major source of business.

Apr 21, 2017 03:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,297
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I was using it and building up a social network but it was not productive so I quit a few years ago.

Apr 21, 2017 03:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,623,972
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

I have a Yelp account and do not use it. They are trying to sell premium accounts that frankly are no better than Zillow leads  with promises of success that never materialize.

Apr 22, 2017 06:26 AM
Ambassador
1,616,204
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

not at this time

Apr 22, 2017 06:15 AM
Rainmaker
597,834
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

No. I've heard too many bad things about reviews that can't be removed.

Apr 22, 2017 06:07 AM
Rainmaker
846,275
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

No I do not. I don't even use it for restaurant reviews anymore.

Apr 22, 2017 05:45 AM
Rainmaker
3,296,977
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Not using it and see too many spitefull negatives to trust it

Apr 22, 2017 05:44 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

We are not

Apr 22, 2017 05:28 AM
Rainmaker
1,509,902
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I do not have a yelp page, it is enough rating on zillow/trulia and FB. 

Apr 21, 2017 11:52 PM
Rainmaker
2,610,400
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Tried it and didnt work out

Apr 21, 2017 05:49 PM
Rainmaker
6,366,309
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Nope.

Apr 21, 2017 04:44 PM
Rainmaker
1,044,289
Dave Martin (703) 585-4687
Fairfax Realty - Fairfax, VA
Making Realty Dreams a Reality #WeWillGetYouHome

I am not using it but I am very very late to this post and all seems to have been solved/answered here :-) Happy Days!

Mar 29, 2018 06:52 PM
Rainmaker
859,897
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Jeff - I set up a free account just to be on there a few years ago, but am not really expecting anything from it, and have not really gotten anything from it.

Apr 26, 2017 12:10 AM
Rainmaker
4,733,499
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I have heard bad things about Yelp, and choose not to advertise there.

Apr 24, 2017 06:21 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,306
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I do not.  I'm not a fan of their business practices.

Apr 24, 2017 04:55 AM
Rainmaker
3,834,675
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Not in to Yelp but should look at it.

 

Apr 22, 2017 11:02 AM
Rainmaker
1,361,528
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I have an account but do not like the company.  They will demote your reviews if you don't advertise.  They've been sued over it and the courts found in their favor.  I don't put much focus into getting reviews there.

Apr 22, 2017 09:45 AM
Rainmaker
808,497
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

I've never done anything with yelp, but I noticed the other day we have one review and they have our office address wrong and won't let me change it...-Kasey

Apr 22, 2017 08:58 AM
Rainmaker
906,623
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I do use yelp, I do not pay for services - I do get traffic from Yelp though

Apr 22, 2017 08:51 AM
Rainmaker
3,955,698
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I had a "free" account but rarely used it.  They are persistent marketers.  

Apr 22, 2017 06:37 AM