Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Catherine Ulrey - I'd say, as long as they respond to their clients' needs, it's okay. As long as they communicate with you when the transaction is on, that's fine.

It's not our business to check on what 'else' they are doing - as long as they do their due diligence to their clients and other agents.

I have seen many full time agents not returning the calls or showing up on time or.....many other things!

Feb 09, 2015 02:39 PM
Rainmaker
869,141
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

It is NOT unprofesssional. To be frank, such an effort could give an agent access to a vertical market that those of us on the outside are excluded.

One fellow I know works as sales staff for a yacht resale company at the marina. ALL of this clients and ALL of his marketing is confined to those affluent citizens. Unprofessional. No. Exceedingly cunning..YES!

And to be frank, I can not tell when he's working. vacationing or goofing off. Yet always on the leader board with a mega-pop every month.

Feb 09, 2015 08:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,027,335
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

IF (and that can be a big "if") a transaction goes smoothly, the agent is equally as knowledgable, does not shortchange his or her clients in any way, and does not otherwise advertise her Mary Kay or Amway business on her email (THAT amazes me!), I do not care what they do.  Some people have consuming hobbies, some people shut it down at night for family time or tv time, whatever, some people are involved in civic organizations or PTA,  so if someone wnts to work a 2nd job or go to school, more power to them. I have seen plenty of full time agents be unccessible and less than knowledgable who are not working another job or going to school.   Until we raise the bar in this profession, anyway, it is a moot point. 

Feb 09, 2015 08:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,092,472
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

At times a side business can become an excellent adjunct to your Real Estate or vice versa. I used to have a 4x4 pickup and would plow snow in the Northeast. My customers knew I'd have them accessible within hours after the accumulation. It wasn't a discount service it was peace of mind for them. A typical snow day would net me almost $3,500. I wish I was there now, not really, however the work complimented both businesses quite well. 

Feb 09, 2015 04:31 PM
Rainmaker
629,951
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

We have to work together.

Feb 06, 2018 09:51 PM
Rainer
1,190
Charles Knighton, II MSRE

Catherine,

I don't know if this was already answered but I actually am more involved in preventing consumers from being scammed in the real estate industry.  The business itself takes a lot of work and customer service and in my opinion, if you can provide superior customer service for your real estate business, keep up with the latest trends and still afford the time to do another business then more power to you.  The goal is to help the consumer whether you set hours for 8 or more a day or less than 3.  That's just my opinion.  Hope that helps, I'm always trying to learn more and get better so I look forward to hearing other responses.

 

Charles Knighton II, MSRE

President- The REI Consumer

Charles@REIConsumer.org

www.REIConsumer.org

 

 

 

 

Feb 12, 2015 10:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,683,050
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

It's not bad doing Real Estate part time, until you get your feet on the ground, but not in favor of Real Estate being a permanent part time job.

Feb 11, 2015 10:49 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,356
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I don't know if I would call it unprofessional, Catherine.  But, I'm not sure if part time agents can adequately service their clients.

Feb 10, 2015 01:58 AM
Rainer
11,995
Gary Branscombe
Realtypath LLC - Advantage - Salt Lake City, UT
Your Preferred Realtor in the Salt Lake City Area

I believe as long as the agent is giving the client great service there is no harm and can be advantageous in my opinion. Leads can come from the other employment. I don't find it unprofessional at all. I think its a smart move.

Feb 10, 2015 12:16 AM
Rainmaker
3,333,268
Sally K. & David L. Hanson
EXP Realty 414-525-0563 - Brookfield, WI
WI Real Estate Agents - Luxury - Divorce

All an agent has to do to be professional is keep up with the business he/she has...multiple businesses without other managers can mean none at all.

Feb 09, 2015 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
3,907,006
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I don't think it's a question of being unprofessional. The real issue is whether you can really make a go of this business on such a part-time basis. As long as the agent is servicing their clients' expectations and delivering, it shouldn't matter if they are full or part time.

Feb 09, 2015 08:54 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I have always done it full time . I know some successful agents who do it part time . They have a lot of contacts and get most of their business from friends and family.

Feb 09, 2015 08:33 PM
Rainer
140,911
Daniel Seider
BTRE Big Trees Real Estate - Arnold, CA

I feel as long as the agent provide good service and thinks about the needs of his client first  there is no conflict that he or she seeks to do other career goals.

Feb 09, 2015 02:03 PM
Ambassador
5,213,048
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Why would I get concerned about what they do?

Oct 10, 2019 11:47 PM
Rainer
279,648
Dipti Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
On a team with Praful Thakkar

People can do what they like to do. We can't stop them.

Jun 19, 2018 09:14 PM
Rainmaker
447,537
Catherine Ulrey
Keller Williams Capital City - Salem, OR
Equestrian and Acreage Property Specialist

Thanks for your input!  One transaction I have in mind, the listing agent has a side business, I have seen her at trade shows with a booth for it.  That transaction never closed.  Calls were never returned, or, three days later.  Her senior aged clients had no idea what was going on.   I thought perhaps I was being to hard on her, but you guys have re-assured me! 

Feb 10, 2015 12:04 AM