Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
808,847
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

Termites are not non-existent here, but it's not a widespread problem. Termite inspections are not required and I don't' know what a termite bond is. -Kasey

Oct 26, 2018 09:36 AM
Ambassador
4,579,622
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Inspections are highly recommended given how prevalent these critters are here near the coast A few companies offer free inspections but commonly $75 - $125 depending on company and size of house. Companies I've seen warrant their work typically for a year but that varies by type of treatment - orange oil, fumigation, heat treatment.  Some people sign up for annual treatment programs which sound like the bond you are referring to.

Oct 26, 2018 01:41 PM
Rainmaker
1,899,349
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co Notary Services retired RE Broker

One benefit of a cold climate like North Dakota is that we do not have termites Fred Griffin .

Oct 26, 2018 11:25 AM
Rainmaker
4,099,168
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

 Per our state residential purchase agreement between buyer/seller are negotiated regarding the responsibility of the cost of any report or repair which can vary greatly. I am not familiar with the term "bond" in our area.

Oct 26, 2018 10:46 AM
Rainmaker
384,652
Joseph Domino 480-390-6011
HomeSmart - Scottsdale, AZ
Real Estate Made Easy

Termite Inspection? Anywhere from $0 - 100, depending on who is doing the inspection. Some home inspectors are qualified to do pest inspections, but I always recommend a pest control company.

If wood destroying insects are found then a treatment is necessary. Again pricing could be from low, for a spot treatment, to thousands for a full treatment with extended warranty. All wood destroying insect treatments in AZ require a 1 year warranty. Anything longer cost more.

We just had a whole house treatment for a small 1140 sq ft house with 1 year warranty for $380.

Oct 26, 2018 09:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,231,599
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Zip, Nada.  Too cold up here.  Just kidding... Guess, I don't have a better answer for your question, Fred Griffin 

Do you think they could survive around my house in the winter?

                My house

Oct 26, 2018 09:31 AM
Rainmaker
6,606,578
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

The inspections are not very expensive. The treatments depend upon the size of the home and the evidence found.

Oct 26, 2018 01:05 PM
Rainmaker
1,027,385
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

On our beach house in NC, we pay $135 a year for the termite bond and annual inspection. 

Oct 26, 2018 11:36 AM
Rainmaker
849,960
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

$40.00 to $75.00 for inspection. Some companies offer a warranty, but they have to do a yearly inspection at $25.00 or so per inspection.

Oct 26, 2018 10:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,722,955
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

Wish you wouldn't have put a photo of those suckers. It is really rare here so I can't tell you.

Oct 26, 2018 10:23 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,896
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I've never heard of a termite bond!!!

Oct 26, 2018 09:59 AM
Rainmaker
4,116,816
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Ours is not a termite inspection...it's a wood destroying insect inspection. They cost between $80-100. Termite bond prices are all over the board but if you haven't maintained one it's probably around $1,000 to start off. Ours came with our new home 12 years ago and we renew annually.

Oct 26, 2018 03:08 PM
Rainmaker
529,295
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

It's a very rare occurrence here, however, the cost is dependent upon what is found, how much damage has already been done and the cure for the problem.  Not sure what a bond is ... but thank you to Fred Griffin for researching and giving us the information.

Oct 26, 2018 01:23 PM
Rainmaker
991,135
Doug Dawes
KW Evolution - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

Termites, ants and other wood boring insects can be an issue here. Most of the good companies have a contract and provide some form of guarantee for the effectiveness of their treatments

Oct 27, 2018 06:00 AM
Rainmaker
758,476
Debra Leisek
Bay Realty,Inc Homer Alaska - Homer, AK

No termites in Alaska

No snakes either

 

 

Oct 27, 2018 01:14 AM
Ambassador
5,408,329
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Not a problem around here, winter controls these for us.

Oct 26, 2018 06:14 PM
Rainmaker
1,387,173
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I just had two done for my own homes.  Each one cost $55.  Treatment varies.

Oct 26, 2018 03:48 PM
Rainmaker
821,932
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Checking for termites is a routine part of a home inspection in CT as we have many and often older wood structures. Not aware of bonds, but repairs could be costly as the damage may be inside walls. Treatment can also be expensive and may require multiple visits (more than $1,000). 

Oct 26, 2018 02:55 PM
Rainmaker
910,796
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

Just had a pest inspection done on a home. Cost was $395. I have never heard of a termite bond. After treatment, the pest companies do offer a guarantee but no more than a year, I believe. There are also companies that offer ongoing pest service for a monthly fee.Termites are very common in our area.

Oct 26, 2018 02:18 PM
Rainmaker
1,921,264
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Depends on the square footage of the home.

Oct 27, 2018 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,703
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Not heard of bonds

Oct 27, 2018 04:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,519,141
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I have no idea what such bond is, likely not CA thing.

Oct 26, 2018 10:53 PM
Rainer
482,447
Bruce Kunz
C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100 - Howell, NJ
REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale

A cursory inspection is typically part of the home inspection. If the buyer wants more, it's their option and their expense. Homeowners can have a contract with an exterminator, but it's not a cost to me either way.
Bruce

 

Oct 26, 2018 07:24 PM
Rainmaker
3,331,511
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Here the buyer pays if they want a pest inspection. There are no termite bonds here. 

Oct 26, 2018 06:14 PM
Rainmaker
4,013,392
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

We are lucky and have  very few of them in Colorado.   So most people do not inspect for them.

Oct 26, 2018 04:23 PM
Ambassador
3,055,949
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I've never heard of a termite bond.

Inspections are between $125 - $175 

Oct 27, 2018 08:21 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,501
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I have seen bonds that vary depending on the type of termites.  Typically you choose one or both types of coverage.  Dry wood and/or subterranean. 

Oct 27, 2018 06:32 AM
Rainmaker
4,938,579
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

We don't have termites in Denver, maybe too cold for them.

Oct 31, 2018 06:48 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,875
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Sorry, not much  for termites in Minnesota

Oct 28, 2018 09:16 PM
Rainmaker
2,062,534
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

I always advise home owners to do treatment before putting property for sale ( townhouses and houses)

Oct 28, 2018 12:06 PM
Rainmaker
1,596,606
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent

Oh, they are in Florida. 

Sometimes they are in condos too.

Oct 28, 2018 12:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,153,675
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Termte inspection costs me $175-200 here(th vs SFH) at rock bottom price. In our area it is the responsibility of buyers to decide as sellers are not responsible for approval. Everything is as is.

Oct 27, 2018 10:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,670,134
Mike Cooper, Broker VA,WV, MD
Cornerstone Business Group Inc - Winchester, VA
Your Neighborhood Real Estate Sales Pro

Fred, we do termite inspections, but that's about it. In some worst cases, a service will be secured for 1 year. The initial inspection runs about $30 - $50 locally.

Oct 27, 2018 08:56 AM
Ambassador
2,570,787
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  Termite Bond, from WiseGeek

     A termite bond is a contract between a pest management company and a homeowner which provides a form of insurance which is effective after a pest inspection and treatment.  With a termite bond, treatments for recurrence of termites are free for the life of the bond.   Not all pest management companies offer these bonds, and the terms of the bond can vary, but they can be very useful for homeowners, especially if people believe that they will be staying in their home for at least five years.

     Also known as a termite contract, a termite bond states that if termites recur during the life of the bond, the pest management company will treat them for free.  The bond also usually includes an annual inspection for termites, for which the customer may have to pay.   Some bonds include extra features like damage compensation, so that if a house incurs damage as a result of returning termites, the pest management company will pay for repairs and replacements.

Oct 27, 2018 06:11 AM