Praful Thakkar, Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale (LAER Realty Partners)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
556,758
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

I often wonder when I see instructions like this if they are coming from the seller or the listing agent. If your buyer cannot get their offer completed by 5 pm on Monday, I would still submit it before 11 am Tuesday. We know the Code of Ethics requires all offers to be submitted to the seller for review.

Mar 23, 2018 01:49 PM
Rainmaker
1,231,002
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

I do this for multiple offer too, often. The ones that arrive in the gap get back burnered or else how can you ever get started. Unless a late offer is amazing, it's a second round counter. If you've ever had a hot property and 27 offers, you'd appreciate this method.

Mar 23, 2018 06:15 PM
Rainmaker
4,099,880
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Stuff happens.  Follow the instructions of your client.

Mar 23, 2018 12:13 PM
Ambassador
5,409,680
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

They must be presented, but the agent may be put them in an envelope marked, offers from people who do not follow instructions.

Mar 23, 2018 10:20 PM
Rainmaker
5,571,923
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

that's such nonsense.... all offers should be delivered.... the listing agent is trying to create an urgency.... in this sellers' market, the home must be overpriced to have to jump through those hoops.... 

write up the offer and deliver it to the listing agent.... have the buyer call the seller to make sure the seller has the buyer's offer.... he can always say he was concerned that it would not get delivered... 

you are not calling ....the buyer is...you can't control what someone else does....

 

Mar 23, 2018 04:02 PM
Ambassador
3,986,710
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

In my market, additional offers that come in from 5PM to 11AM will be presented also. Our State Broker act and agency law says we must present all offers. 

Mar 23, 2018 02:22 PM
Rainmaker
4,210,570
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

If I get an offer in on Tuesday morning, I submit it for consideration. What they do with it is up to the seller.

Mar 23, 2018 12:22 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,984
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Bob Crane nailed this one!

Mar 24, 2018 05:13 AM
Rainmaker
1,519,251
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Still have to be presented asap.

Mar 23, 2018 06:09 PM
Ambassador
3,056,547
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Offer deadlines posted in the agent only remarks of the MLS are very common in my area.  What to make of it is if you want to compete, better get the offer in by the deadline .... OR notify the listing agent that you will have your offer in by X time.  Otherwise, an offer may be accepted during the open timeframe between offers in by and presented by. 

Mar 23, 2018 03:02 PM
Rainmaker
1,723,105
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

They are due by 5pm & seller will get back to everyone by 11am next day. That's how I take it.

Mar 23, 2018 02:05 PM
Rainmaker
1,922,214
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

It expires.

Mar 23, 2018 01:57 PM
Rainmaker
849,960
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Sellers will probably want to see all offers, even if they show up after the deadline. Another question would be, if the offer arrives after the deadline, is it still a legitimate offer?

Mar 23, 2018 01:13 PM
Rainmaker
5,588,086
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Praful,

I second Michael Jacobs comment.  We followed sellers instructions and would let the seller know about all the offers that came.  A

Mar 24, 2018 01:04 PM
Rainmaker
1,404,449
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

My opinion if the deadline is 5 pm then offers should be presented at 6 pm.

Here most of the properties that the agent is the one using the method are overpriced and if you look a week later the property is still listed with the same remarks! 

Mar 24, 2018 07:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,459,627
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Praful Thakkar This question should be answered by the seller prior to putting the notice out. In the contracting world offers submitted after the submission deadline are rejected unopened.

Mar 24, 2018 06:57 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,501
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I don't know.

Mar 24, 2018 06:34 AM
Rainmaker
2,024,100
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

They are planning for multi offers 

Mar 24, 2018 05:53 AM
Rainer
222,865
Bob Betel
Allstar Home Mortgage, Inc. - Sweetwater, TN
President, Allstar Home Mortgage, Inc

I would ignore the time request and put in an offer at anytime you get one.

don't go for these sales gimmicks and don't let other agent pressure you or your buyer.

Mar 24, 2018 05:38 AM
Rainmaker
365,454
Jay McHugh
SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert - Acton, MA
YOUR SendOutCard Mentor

...this area is very ambiguous to many.....   the agent, however, is expalining the importance of time...and has the right to run his/her business the best way they can...serious agents will see that time is of the essence ... and amateur buyers will attemp to push the envelope....always best to call the agent and explain if you need more time etc.....keep rocking my friend....

Mar 24, 2018 04:45 AM
Ambassador
3,756,199
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

I just had a review process that fell flat because of this review period...

Mar 23, 2018 11:22 PM
Rainmaker
710,004
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Good question to the listing agent. All offers must be presented to the seller. Seller must initial all offers received.

Mar 23, 2018 09:23 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,875
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

SOL ,most likely

Mar 23, 2018 08:49 PM
Rainmaker
821,972
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Maybe it just means that the seller is not available until 11am the next day, or that is when the agent plans to meet with the seller to discuss and review the offers. I don't read anything sinister into this. However, if any offers came in between the indicated hours, they should be presented and considered as well.

Mar 23, 2018 06:51 PM
Rainmaker
910,981
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

All offers must be presented to the seller absent written instructions from the seller to the contrary. 

Deadlines are often necessary to properly manage offers in a multiple offer environment. We would not want a seller to accept an offer and then have a better one come in.

Mar 23, 2018 04:48 PM
Rainmaker
808,847
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

An agent that doesn't want to work on the offers, net sheets, details of them after 5pm on Monday and doesn't want to have to scramble in the morning before the meeting with the seller. However in Idaho Any and all offers submitted must be presented to the sellers through closing regardless of the agents deadline. So anything between 5pm and 11am still need to be presented. -Kasey

Mar 23, 2018 04:14 PM
Rainmaker
3,331,523
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I am so against that, i like to look at offers when they come in. I do not like to sit on them.

Mar 23, 2018 03:50 PM
Ambassador
3,313,163
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

The listing agent needs time to go over the offers to present them to the seller, no?

Mar 23, 2018 03:28 PM
Rainmaker
1,387,323
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Expecting multiple offers and if my clients were to right, darn well better get them in by 5.  My guess is they're going to review the offers and contact lenders prior to meeting with the sellers.

Mar 23, 2018 02:47 PM
Ambassador
4,580,145
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Any others coming in after 5 pm would be submitted to the seller. Sounds like seller will make a decision after 11 on Tuesday.

Mar 23, 2018 02:37 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,703
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No idea.

Mar 23, 2018 02:06 PM
Rainmaker
6,607,713
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

The sellers can make their own rules.

Mar 23, 2018 12:53 PM
Ambassador
4,258,081
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I see this repeatedly by agents from a specific brokerage - it's not the sellers asking for this, I'd be willing to bet big money on that!

May 02, 2018 09:50 PM
Rainmaker
4,939,658
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

When we put in MLS, offers only accepted through a certain time, usually no offers come in after that.

Mar 27, 2018 07:29 AM
Ambassador
3,039,280
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

The seller has the right to reject people who don't follow the rules.

Mar 24, 2018 04:47 PM
Rainmaker
1,435,000
Yolanda Cordova-Gilbert
Richmond, TX

Hmmm I agree by law all offers must be presented but it does make you wonder!

Mar 24, 2018 03:47 PM
Ambassador
2,570,942
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

    Unless instructed in writing by the Seller otherwise, present those offers.   

Mar 23, 2018 03:46 PM
Rainmaker
4,118,298
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Those offers have missed the deadline, obviously, but a seller might want to see them anyway. The risk here is that we are obliged by law to submit all offers to our clients.

Mar 23, 2018 02:35 PM
Rainmaker
514,124
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

This has been common in my market for a while. Not all agents necessarily handle things the same. I would encourage dialogue with the listing agent prior to the due date to see how they plan to do things. 

I like to put a deadline ahead of my meeting with my seller's to fully review all offers, call lenders and verify any ambiguities.  I have also been known to offer "encouragement" to buyer's agents when they are close, but they suggest they might do better.  

It's good to discuss your strategy with your client to ensure you represent them, they way they want.  

Mar 23, 2018 02:29 PM