Corey R. Roberts, Turning Dreams into Realty. (Keller Williams Realty—Yuba Sutter)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
3,987,010
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Some agents do it right there at the closing. I have taken a photo and asked the clients to share it and post a review. I have done videos at the closing too.

Aug 21, 2017 07:36 PM
Ambassador
4,553,380
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Ask - if they forget, I don't bug them.

It's hard for me to ask - I think it's the 'manners' thing that our parents taught us! We're taught to not brag about ourselves so, it's hard to ask someone else to do that also.

I struggle with that question nearly every day. 

Aug 21, 2017 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,491,440
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

(1) I make sure I provide such wonderful service they seem to do it without my asking them to and many actually ask about the best way to do it. (2) My broker sends out a review form after each transaction and people respond more often than not.

I've also found that if I'm connected to clients on LinkedIn and ask for a recommendation, they happily do it.

Aug 22, 2017 04:04 AM
Rainmaker
538,444
Dave Halpern
Dave Halpern Real Estate Agent, Inc., Louisville, KY (502) 664-7827 - Louisville, KY
Louisville Short Sale Expert

 I have the same problem. At closing, clients often say I did such a good job they need time to write a good recommendation. Then it's hard to chase.

Aug 21, 2017 11:34 PM
Rainmaker
4,264,279
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I find when I ask I get better results.  Keeping things simple.  

Aug 22, 2017 04:50 AM
Rainmaker
846,375
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

Tell them how much it would help you in your business and that you would appreciate it sooo much. Half will do it.

Aug 22, 2017 04:29 AM
Ambassador
3,360,199
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster Real Estate - Gainesville, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I usually let them know I'll be sending the request at closing and make sure they are okay with it.  In fact, this past week I was running around reminding my June sellers to please fill it out.  One out of three is about standard for results.

Aug 21, 2017 09:53 PM
Rainmaker
2,012,362
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

start asking before closing and keep asking - 

Aug 21, 2017 07:53 PM
Rainmaker
1,525,405
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

Our company sends out a form that is quick and easy to fill out and a lot of people do fill them out and return them.

Aug 21, 2017 07:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,070,984
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

We ask at closing - and have several video testimonials!

Aug 22, 2017 05:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,766,686
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

Hope you come up with a great idea. We have a service (Real Satisfied) that lets the client fill out what type they want. Written, checkbox & another one.

I have 3 out right now that no one will fill out .

Aug 22, 2017 04:22 AM
Ambassador
3,631,883
Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

Clients are looking to thank you IF you have done a good job. When ever they say something nice about me and the transaction...is THE very best time to ask! There have been some posts on AR with this information.

Aug 21, 2017 09:19 PM
Ambassador
4,743,745
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I ask, and so many say they are happy to do so. I send one reminder but I don't nag. Seems like others may have better suggestions than I do for success.

Aug 21, 2017 08:57 PM
Rainmaker
5,767,466
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

We have always asked for a letter of recommendation.  A

Aug 21, 2017 07:30 PM
Rainmaker
1,357,642
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

I start sending them the links to my online review sites the week of closing and follow up reminders. I also post sold photos bragging on them as a way to get them to share online.

Aug 22, 2017 05:42 AM
Rainmaker
2,054,699
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Bribe them with a Prize

Aug 22, 2017 05:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,384,740
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

It is pretty hard, as they say they will, most forget and i dont want to hound them

Aug 22, 2017 05:03 AM
Rainmaker
4,351,300
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Ask them

Aug 22, 2017 04:49 AM
Rainmaker
7,037,313
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

You usually have to ask for written reviews and recommendations.

Aug 22, 2017 04:29 AM
Rainer
65,328
Steve Bracero
Heisler and Mattson - Shrewsbury, MA
First Time Homebuyer and Investor Specialist

There is a site called social survery- I am checking it out to see if it is valuable 

Aug 22, 2017 03:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,245
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

At closing you have the best opportunity. Have them do a video but also remember to get them to sign permission to use it on your media.

Aug 22, 2017 03:40 AM
Ambassador
2,077,479
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker/REALTOR® - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

I do ask for reviews, usually at closing and then follow-up with link to site for the actual review. I probably get about a third or half that respond. That's okay with me!

Aug 22, 2017 03:35 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I ask!

Aug 21, 2017 08:12 PM
Rainer
44,791
Dan Capra
LAER Realty Partners - Lowell, MA
Listing/Buyer Agent

You need to do a good job first...then instead of having the closing gift at closing, I check in 1 week later pop by give them their gift and then I ask them if they could help me by filling out a quick review...I do not get any No's!

Aug 22, 2017 10:34 AM
Rainmaker
870,798
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

I don't solicit compliments. If they feel like taking the time to write a review, that's fine. But, I'd prefer that they just told their friends, relatives, and co-workers about me if they liked my service.

Aug 22, 2017 09:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,430,371
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Ask at closing.  Some people provide cards or send out a survey through a review site.  Zillow and Realtor.com allow you to request a review through them.

 

Me, I don't ask for them.  What I like is when they tell their friends about me and their friends buy/sell with me.  That's more valuable to me than a review that quite frankly you can pay a stranger to write for you especially now that zillow doesn't require you to have done business with the person giving the review.

 

Other tactics people do:

  1. Give out a $5 gift card to a coffee shop for each review given (1 review on zillow, realtor, yelp = $15 gift card)
  2. Give them a script of what to write.  The hardest part is often figuring out what to say.
Aug 22, 2017 09:27 AM
Ambassador
2,608,498
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

 

       Ask them at closing to send you an email that you can post to your sites.  That way they only have to type, not log in or provide passwords.

Aug 22, 2017 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,231,605
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Ask them. Works wonders.

Aug 22, 2017 05:44 AM
Rainmaker
1,324,938
Donald Urschalitz
Lubeck Realty Group - Jupiter, FL
P.A. Realtor ABR RSPS North Palm Beach County

I am with Debbie on this since the closing table is the best time since after that clients are so busy and will forget your request sometimes.

Aug 22, 2017 05:10 AM
Rainmaker
394,125
Scott Gleason, CRS
Coldwell Banker Realty - Westfield, NJ
Westfield NJ New Homes Specialist

I make a charitable donation in their name for every posted review.  I provide links to Realtor.com, Zillow-Trulia, LinkedIn.  I tell them $25 per review and if they are a couple both can post.  I always round up to the $100.

Aug 26, 2017 07:47 AM
Rainmaker
5,324,726
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Some will never take the time, and others will, just the nature of this business.

Aug 24, 2017 08:14 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,732
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I just ask them.  Some do, some don't.

Aug 23, 2017 06:54 PM
Rainmaker
1,386,685
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

I ask. 
If they aren't willing to do it without prodding, the review wouldn't be that good anyway.

Aug 23, 2017 04:33 AM
Ambassador
4,316,215
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Corey Roberts - At every closing, I have the client fill in my feedback form in person - and it works!

Aug 22, 2017 10:43 PM
Rainer
177,334
Cheryl Dukes . . . . . Intown Atlanta
Solid Source Realty, Inc. - Atlanta, GA

I just had a couple provide a video review. Only problem was you couldn't understand what they were saying and the video was blurry. Plus, they would tell me positive comments all the time, but on the video they kept saying the same thing over and over again and it really didn't amount to much. So what's better -- A bad review, or no review at all?

Aug 22, 2017 07:30 PM
Rainmaker
849,352
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Do it at closing time, when they're happiest!

Aug 22, 2017 02:17 PM
Rainer
5,735
Patty Wilson
Allison James Estates and Homes - Tallahassee, FL
Specialize in helping folks buy and sell homes

it is on my growth chart to be more purposeful.  right now, i just send a link and request it.  so far, so good.. not sure what to do if they don't actually give the review ;/

Aug 22, 2017 12:29 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I have not.

Aug 22, 2017 12:28 PM
Ambassador
5,753,642
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Include it with the closing paperwork.

Aug 22, 2017 11:35 AM
Rainmaker
4,334,856
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Centralize showing emails them 3 days straight by the second day they respond.

 

Aug 22, 2017 11:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,558,508
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Depends on the client.... Not everyone wants to go public. I'm myself very private person even I have very active marketing presence. But I do ask. The problem with review: there are so many places you want to display them, but you can not use the same review. My question would be what is the most important network/site to display your reviews?

Aug 22, 2017 10:27 AM
Rainmaker
945,523
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I ask and try not to pester them, but I do send them reminders to do so

Aug 22, 2017 10:25 AM
Rainmaker
915,898
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Corey. the process of a real estate transaction is like having three wagons, each with 100 wheels, all wheels moving in same direction, all wagons arriving at same location and at the same time.

In that process there are many opportunities to receive a review for many aspects of the process.

You will find the more concise the testimonial, the bigger response it will have with others.

In the end, you can summarize (not recommended) or hack these together as this clients testimonial.

However, it is important for you to understand, there are only FIVE real things a prospective seller or buyer really want to know about you.  Make effort to have the process testimonials assuage one of those FIVE real issues.

Make yourself comfortable and efficient with your selfie stick and interviewing skills.

Aug 22, 2017 08:56 AM
Rainmaker
474,969
Colleen Fischesser Northwest Property Shop
NextHome Experience - Chelan, WA
A Tradition of Trust in the Pacific NW since 1990!

Before asking for the Zillow review, I let them know up front that they're going to need to open a Zillow account (which is a pain) but that they can delete it after the fact. Also, if they aren't very computer savvy, I ask them to hand write me a review and then I put it on my website. Sometimes you have to ask more than once too! 

Aug 22, 2017 08:49 AM
Ambassador
3,402,694
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Ask them to write a short paragraph - short is the operative word. I find they'd rather email me than do so on an online platform.

Aug 22, 2017 08:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,999
Mike Cooper, Broker VA,WV, MD
Cornerstone Business Group Inc - Winchester, VA
Your Neighborhood Real Estate Sales Pro

Corey, I normally ask them on the way out of closing and it has been pretty successful. A funny thing I've found is that the people you do the most for are the least likely to give a review. 

Aug 22, 2017 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,139,991
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

A 30 to 50 second video review is the way to go. After you ask it's lights , camera, action!

Aug 22, 2017 08:12 AM
Ambassador
1,874,251
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
A moving experience!

I send out an email testimonial-request about 10-days after the closing. I like to allow enough time for the dust to settle, but soon enough that they still remember their joy.

The email is always personalized and I provide them with links to Zillow, Trulia, Realtor.com, Yelp and Angie's list that leads them directly to the page where they can post a review for me.  I also give them my managing broker's email address, just in case they want to sing my praises to him.

If they don't post a review within a few weeks, I will send out an email a second time (not the same email... I use new language recognizing the fact that they are clearly busy, but it would be truly appreciated... )

A very small percentage of those I send out actually post a review... but when they do, it's very appreciated.

Aug 22, 2017 08:12 AM
Rainmaker
5,580,884
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

just ask.... my daughter gets a review from every one of them.... if you do a good job, they're more than happy to provide it....

Aug 22, 2017 08:02 AM
Rainmaker
609,090
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

I think the easiest way is the automatic requests sent from some online recognized websites such as realtor.com. And follow up afterwards.

Aug 22, 2017 08:02 AM
Rainmaker
612,606
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

There is always a time during the transaction when my clients think I am super awesome...that is when I let them know I will be sending them a link for our review at closing...that is also when they say they will, no problem.

At the moment that you are their super hero, you need to let them know you will be expecting a good review.

Eve

Aug 22, 2017 07:27 AM
Rainmaker
1,672,215
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Some never will. The ones that do, do so gladly with one mention of it from us.

Aug 22, 2017 07:24 AM
Rainmaker
577,339
Gloria Valvasori, Accredited Senior Agent
BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS REAL ESTATE SIGNATURE SERVICE - Mississauga, ON
REAL Experience | REAL Commitment | REAL Results!

My company automatically sends out a short survey from a third party.  I let my clients know they will be receiving it and also let them know how important it is to me that they take 5 minutes to complete it.  It helps me to identify any areas of improvement should I require it.  I also ask them to write a short testimonial about their experience working with me.  I have a 100% return rate... and some really great testimonials!  I also ask them to post a testimonial on Google.  I provide them with the URL to make it easy for them.

Aug 22, 2017 07:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,183,950
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Corey Roberts 

Specifically, on Zillow based on your transactions they are favorable. You are doing fine. You need to improve negotiation skills as two reviewers suggested. If you get on my Zillow I barely get reviews consider volume of business completed over the years. I can get clients deals below market even these days because I know how to convince other agents to give the deal to me over other multiple offers....

Even with that I did not receive a review.  It is not meaningful or important anymore.   I do suggest you look into Yelp as it is another place folks look for reviews. In fact each week they want me to buy ads.

Aug 22, 2017 07:08 AM
Rainmaker
4,386,981
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

Explain to them several times through the process how important it is to you and your business. At closing I again remind them they will be getting an email to provide a review of my services.

Aug 22, 2017 07:00 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Corey Roberts All you can do is ask. Do it on a positive note at the closing.

Aug 22, 2017 06:40 AM
Rainmaker
2,691,332
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Asking for feedback and input is rather easy-peasy if humility is driving it

Aug 22, 2017 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
711,169
Abby Stiller
REMAX Realty Group - Cape Coral, FL
Professional Bilingual Realtor (239) 284-8637

I ask right before closing and if they don't do it, I ask after closing but only one or max two times.

Aug 22, 2017 06:05 AM
Rainmaker
4,568,190
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I ask, but am guilty of poor follow-up to get responses.

Aug 22, 2017 05:53 AM
Rainmaker
789,533
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

There is a "lull" before closing when we're just waiting for closing to be scheduled and I've used that time frame to ask for a review.  Once they close, they get busy settling their new place and let's face it, they got what they wanted from you.  I also send an email a few days after closing that has direct links in it.  Not everyone will, but many do.  After one of my recent closings, they asked for my broker/owners name/address because they wanted to let him know how happy they were that they found me.  WOOHOO!!   Bottom line Corey Roberts , be you, provide awesome service and the reviews (& more importantly - REFERRALS!) will come. 

Aug 22, 2017 05:45 AM