Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,270,336
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Termite inspectors are licensed by the state of California(unlike property inspectors) but it's not a part of our purchase agreement unless agreed by both parties.  This is not as common in my area as it once was --- some buyers(and unfortunately some agents) don't understand this and think a termite inspection/clearance is part of the contract.  

Just another example of understanding the contract, knowing local customs and making sure what you "think" is in writing...always.  

Aug 13, 2017 10:36 PM
Ambassador
4,747,971
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

It's a big deal in our area. There is a standard report form for the state. I always suggest buyers have a termite inspection aand request repairs as part of their offer, but it's all negotiable. As we say - there are 2 types of homes, those with termites and those that will get them.

Aug 13, 2017 07:28 PM
Rainmaker
4,400,776
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

Yes we do and I recommend them. We live on a bed of termites and need to know if there are any active and have them treated..easy fix..but need to inspect.

Aug 13, 2017 07:10 PM
Ambassador
5,763,754
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I have only seen one in the last 30 years.

 

Aug 13, 2017 07:01 PM
Rainmaker
4,505,696
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I've virtually never had a buyer who didn't do a WDI inspection. For $75 why wouldn't you get peace of mind? Per the expression I've heard many times, in the Carolinas it's not if you have termites, but when you have termites.

Some loans require it, in any event. Forms used in SC and NC are "standard."

Aug 14, 2017 04:00 AM
Rainmaker
947,191
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Yes, of course and ours look pretty similar to yours. It's state-governed. Not 'required' unless buyer is being financed, but it's pretty scary to think people would not want to investigate fully. The responsibility is the buyer's to have inspection during their due diligence period, and typically seller will pay for termite treatment (usually for subterranean, drill holes into foundation, no tenting, about .45 PSF) but that is also negotiable.

Aug 14, 2017 04:02 PM
Ambassador
3,162,866
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Termites are very common in my area - and I will simply echo what Michael Jacobs said.

Aug 14, 2017 07:53 AM
Rainmaker
5,768,176
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Fred,

Jeff Dowler has the answer. A

Aug 13, 2017 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,579,620
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Always in Florida, not in downtown Chicago

Aug 13, 2017 09:06 PM
Rainmaker
577,737
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

yes, yes and yes!

Aug 13, 2017 08:51 PM
Ambassador
4,316,415
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Fred Griffin - I have seen some forms while dealing with FHA mortgage only.

I do not think we have anything at the state level.

Aug 13, 2017 08:40 PM
Ambassador
3,987,010
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Our state has a required form but it is up to the buyer to request having one and some lenders require it for the loan.

Aug 13, 2017 07:20 PM
Rainmaker
433,039
Joseph Domino 480-390-6011
HomeSmart - Scottsdale, AZ
Real Estate Made Easy

The standard Arizona Purchase Contract allows for the buyer to review any prior termite inspection reports and perform a new termite inspection uring the inspection period.

All termite inspections that discover termites and all resulting treatments are required to be reported to the Arizona Pest Management Divison (PMD) of our Dept of Agriculture.  The PMD requires contractors to use a Termite Action Report Form (TARF) similar to the one you are showing and maintains a public database easily accessable via the internet of all reports.

It is a great system that helps buyers not only know the history, but they can find out if there is a warranty in place that may save them some money.

We have a saying here in AZ. "It is not IF you have termites, it is when you have termites".

Aug 13, 2017 07:17 PM
Rainer
382,203
Sally Lawrence
Advantage Real Estate - Tehachapi, CA
Broker, CHS, e-Pro, SFR, REALTOR®

It is pretty common here for most transactions to include a Wood Destroying Pest Inspection.  

The CA contract is silent on pest inspection unless the buyer writes it in.  I have had plenty of listing agents try to tell me that the buyer can't do a pest inspection because it wasn't included in the contract.  They seem confused by the buyer investigation phase allowing the buyer to conduct whatever non-destructive investigations they choose.

I hate that people call it a Termite inspection because it's so much more than that.  I had a property recently where I was representing the buyer and we did a pest inspection that revealed both subterranean (quite common here) and dry wood (less common, but not uncommon) termites in the house.  The detached garage was termite free but the buyers were concerned because there was also a small barn on the property.  I had the Pest Inspector go back and do a supplemental report for the barn and we had subterranean termites and fungus present there.

We hit the trifecta on that property.  

Aug 19, 2017 05:52 PM
Rainmaker
1,185,164
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Realtor do better in termite business and they often have both business.

Aug 18, 2017 11:24 AM
Rainmaker
4,347,548
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Lucky in the Denver area we do not have those instections.

 

Aug 16, 2017 08:15 AM
Rainmaker
5,338,311
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

We only have a few pockets in Denver that has termites, and we do not have any forms for this purpose.

Aug 15, 2017 06:47 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Termite inspections are common.

Aug 15, 2017 02:47 AM
Rainmaker
628,472
John Slocum
Premiere Property Group, LLC - Vancouver Washington - Vancouver, WA
Broker, SFR - Vancouver WA Real Estate

The standard Home Inspection in our area covers a WDO report.  Don't see termites so much, as Carpenter Ants (large black knarly ants) are occassionally found.  Most common finding is moss, mold, algae...

Aug 14, 2017 07:29 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

We don't have this in Minnesota

Aug 14, 2017 06:40 PM
Rainmaker
1,431,861
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

These as standard in CA as Michael Jacobs and Jeff Dowler have stated.  They are not part of the contract and when a "new" agent... puts it in there we always counter it out.  It reallys screws up the lenders, as they won't fund until the report is clear... but you can't do the work until it closes escrow and the sellers move out.

Aug 14, 2017 04:04 PM
Rainmaker
610,260
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Termites are not a problem in our part of the country, Fred Griffin . However, there are times when we are dealing with out of state lenders, that we have to explain this to them as termite inspections are standard in their area and required as part of the deal.

Aug 14, 2017 03:32 PM
Rainmaker
2,310,414
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

I guess termites don't like our high altitude and thin air.  And probably the cold winters scare them off as well.  It is rare to hear of termintes out here.

Aug 14, 2017 12:10 PM
Ambassador
3,407,037
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Here's how it works in Phoenix Area -  50% of home have had termites and 50% will probably get them. Not a big deal!! We have termite inspections on every home regardless and yes there is a standard form. It is regulated also by the state.

Aug 14, 2017 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
5,580,934
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

all buyers have a pest inspection with their home inspection.... we have nowhere near the problems found in Florida.... insects run for shelter in the winter....

Aug 14, 2017 09:41 AM
Rainmaker
596,490
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

Pest inspections in California, if done by anyone on a property, it doesn't matter who paid for them, become part of the sellers disclosure if the first buyer who ordered it doesn't go through wih the purchase. Done by licensed inspectors and sent to the Structural Pest Control Board which keeps pest inspections for 2 years.

Aug 14, 2017 09:25 AM
Rainer
117,085
Christine Kankowski North SD and Temecula
House Match Inc - Poway, CA
Excellent Sales and Property Management

IN CAlif, yes we get an inpsection on most homes if requeste byt he buyer.  It is negotiable and neds to be requested by the buyer in the initial offer.

The repairs associated are handled like any other repairs, although sometimes they are also includede in the initial offer. 

Aug 14, 2017 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,361,645
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

85% of the homes I sell have termites or fungus/dry rot. It's very common here in houses, a little less common in condos. It's a standard inspection rarely skipped in our coastal desert-city.

Aug 14, 2017 07:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,673,215
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Of course we do.

Aug 14, 2017 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
598,824
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

We don't have a standardized form in our area. We are seeing more inspections because they seem to be more active recently.

Aug 14, 2017 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Fred Griffin Not only common, but mandatory in order to close on the property.

Aug 14, 2017 06:10 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,732
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I'm not sure if the inspection report is standard or not.  In most cases I let the inspector decide if a separate WDO inspection is required.

Aug 14, 2017 05:58 AM
Rainmaker
946,423
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

You know it is and I do Fred Griffin LOL

Aug 14, 2017 05:18 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,034
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Very common - in fact - the only way they can be avoided is if it's a cash buyer who doesn't care...

Aug 14, 2017 05:14 AM
Rainmaker
1,768,146
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

I just had to order a termite/destroying inspection. I thought the lenders used to do this but I guess that changed. Honestly, I didn't know who to call. Seller did not want to pay for it but in the end finally did.

Aug 14, 2017 05:13 AM
Rainmaker
2,055,099
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

We always advise to test for pests !

Aug 14, 2017 05:02 AM
Rainmaker
7,052,178
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

These inspections are always done in our area.

Aug 14, 2017 04:48 AM
Rainmaker
871,278
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Yes, It's normal here to use a standard form.

Aug 14, 2017 04:09 AM
Ambassador
4,570,339
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

It's a big deal in our area and yes, we have a state form, the inspectors have to be licensed to perform the inspections, the state provides the WDIR (Wood-Destroying Insect Report) and if you want to protect your license, you have your buyers sign the report for your permanent records!

Aug 13, 2017 09:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,708,245
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

We do on existing homes.

Aug 13, 2017 07:31 PM