Spam prevention
Rainmaker
2,310,414
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

No that is a new one.  I showed a property once where the owner was an appraiser and he made sure to be there for the showing so he could share his value opinions with us.

Aug 12, 2017 09:53 AM
Rainmaker
4,505,351
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

That's a new one on me. I've sold where all buyers and sellers (including respective spouses) were lawyers. What do you think is worse?

Aug 12, 2017 08:16 AM
Ambassador
4,747,570
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Oh I get opinions, they have just never been appraisers

Aug 12, 2017 08:09 AM
Ambassador
2,114,512
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I have had a listing where one of the sellers was an out of town appraiser. Appraiser seller was receptive to comps shown and market condition, unfortunately, the husband was not and would not agree to recommended price adjustments or accept a reasonable offer that was received. Listing consequently expired and sold for much less with another agent some months later. Time and money lost when it shouldn't have. 

Aug 12, 2017 07:12 AM
Ambassador
2,609,568
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

     I won't let an Appraiser set the price for a house that he/she is buying... unless they have valid comps. 

Aug 12, 2017 07:10 AM
Ambassador
5,763,174
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I am sure that the Buyers will come along with some different comps and a non biased appraiser.

Aug 12, 2017 06:13 PM
Rainmaker
1,431,851
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

That is a new one!  Too bad it won't help during the buyer's loan process (or maybe it will???)

Aug 12, 2017 03:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,768,106
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

Well yes, you will & I would expect it. They better be in line with yours or I'd find another client.  That's how it would work with an appraiser.

I did sell a friends house who was an appraiser & he was miffed at my price which was $30K below what the bought it for but it did finally sell at that.

Aug 12, 2017 12:27 PM
Ambassador
3,406,922
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

That's a good one Sally & David. I have never run into 2 appraisers. 2 attorney, 2 this, 2 that but never 2 appraisers.

Aug 12, 2017 12:00 PM
Rainmaker
5,580,934
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

all of the appraisals should land within the same price range....it's not an exact science but the variable is not a large one!!!! your opinion is the third one!!! you should all be the same "price range."

Aug 12, 2017 10:14 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I have not sold one, but I did do a buy on one.  My client and the person the bank appointed came in at about $500 apart.

Aug 12, 2017 10:08 AM
Rainmaker
4,270,299
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I can't recall this situation.  Sounds like a blog-post-in-the-making.  

Aug 12, 2017 10:04 AM
Ambassador
1,906,551
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

I sold a house owned by a mortgage broker, but it wasn't my listing.  

Aug 12, 2017 09:07 AM
Rainmaker
2,165,900
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Have not.

Aug 12, 2017 08:44 AM
Rainmaker
538,994
Dave Halpern
Dave Halpern Real Estate Agent, Inc., Louisville, KY (502) 664-7827 - Louisville, KY
Louisville Short Sale Expert

No, but I sold a house for a mortgage broker during the housing crash.

Aug 12, 2017 08:43 AM
Ambassador
3,162,790
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Hahahahh ... that is funny.   No I have not. I would be that if I did I would get another set of comps.  

Aug 12, 2017 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
4,579,553
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I don't think so. Regardless, their opinion would not matter to me!

Aug 12, 2017 07:27 AM
Rainmaker
5,768,176
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

We have not

Aug 12, 2017 07:21 AM
Rainmaker
916,348
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

ABSOLUTELY NOT!

I will not call their baby ugly. (unless they agreed to abide by the 3rd party evaluation)

However, I will let the market place speak with a loud voice. No showings in 3 weeks is loud.

Aug 12, 2017 07:08 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,034
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

We have not

Aug 12, 2017 07:04 AM
Rainmaker
2,054,999
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

I almost did , but they could agree on price !!!!!!

Sep 11, 2017 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,673,215
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Haven't been there...fortunately. And you still have hair left?

Aug 13, 2017 07:12 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,732
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I haven't.  Is it ethical to do your own appraisal if your an appraiser?

Aug 13, 2017 06:14 AM
Rainmaker
598,824
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

I tried to sell an apartment building owned by an appraiser. he had it priced almost $100,000 over market. I crunched the numbers ten ways to Sunday and couldn't come up with his but he insisted. It didn't sell.

Aug 13, 2017 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Aug 13, 2017 03:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,559,628
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Nope, to tell you the truth I never had any seller who was an appraiser. But I believe it can be quite helpful ( no arguments about zestimate~ one of them!)

Aug 12, 2017 11:40 PM
Ambassador
4,569,723
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Never - this should be interesting, Sally K. & David L. Hanson! I'm looking forward to your post on this one!

Aug 12, 2017 11:31 PM
Ambassador
4,316,415
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Sally K. & David L. Hanson - now this can be very easy (if they keep their emotions in check....lol!)

Aug 12, 2017 10:57 PM
Ambassador
3,987,010
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

The hardest sellers to deal with are appraisers. I have to show and prove more than with other sellers.

Aug 12, 2017 09:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,708,245
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Never have done that. Should be "fun".

Aug 12, 2017 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,692,834
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

of opinions there is no end...give me results!

Aug 12, 2017 10:11 AM
Rainmaker
7,052,123
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Nope.

Aug 12, 2017 07:35 AM
Rainer
341,253
Ron Tissier
Chapman Hall Premier Realtors (404) 580-9069 - Atlanta, GA
Defining Homes. Defining Lifestyles.

I sold one of my homes as a Realtor and when I was a former appraiser.  Had no bearing on the transaction as the Buyer's lender used their appraiser.

His appraisal and mine were right where it should have been.

Cheers!

Sep 11, 2017 06:44 AM
Rainmaker
4,346,581
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Guess I was lucky that this never happen in any of my deals

 

Aug 15, 2017 01:59 PM
Ambassador
3,992,809
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

I had to do my own due diligence when this happened to me....

Aug 13, 2017 03:59 PM