Nathan Gesner, Broker / Property Manager (American West Realty and Management)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,768,176
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Nathan,

The new "in" thing in marketing is asking for reviews by various vendors.  Reviews take my time up, and no one has thought of the fact that our time has value.  So I think this is one way to say, I appreciate your time.  A

Feb 21, 2017 09:07 PM
Rainmaker
4,505,696
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Why not? What's wrong with a bit of incentinve? Companies do it all the time.

Feb 22, 2017 03:56 AM
Ambassador
4,747,971
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

It's an incentive to share a review but should not depend on what the review says.

Feb 21, 2017 10:17 PM
Rainmaker
1,361,645
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

People aways respond to FREE offers.

The reviews are honest, it's getting them to do them that takes work.

It's totally fine as long as they get the card regardless of the review.

Feb 21, 2017 10:04 PM
Rainmaker
985,363
Peter Mohylsky
PMI. Destin - Miramar Beach, FL

Great idea.

Feb 21, 2017 09:50 PM
Rainmaker
610,260
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Does he/she dictate what they say?  If not, then it is a marketing strategy and obviously he/she is hoping for good reviews. Millennials check out reviews and it is important that we have good ones to be noticed in this market.

Feb 21, 2017 09:16 PM
Rainer
213,213
Dennis Swartz
Full Circle Property Management - Columbus, OH
MBA, GRI...experience counts!

YES! Because in property management all you get is pounded, so a few positive comments are worth the cash!

Feb 22, 2017 03:51 AM
Ambassador
2,083,868
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker/REALTOR® - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

It would encourage landlords and tenants to submit the review, so sure. 

Feb 22, 2017 03:48 AM
Rainmaker
222,543
Foster Smith Summerville
Carolina One Real Estate - Summerville, SC
Summerville & Charleston Homes for Sale SC Realtor

It is hard to get people to take the time to leave a review...that said, I've never done this as it smells of "paying for the review." I've been able to get enough reviews by just reaching out to past clients soon after a transaction has closed. 

Feb 22, 2017 03:42 AM
Ambassador
5,763,754
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Law of reciprocity, people will naturally submit favorable reviews when offered a treat.

Feb 22, 2017 12:58 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,034
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Sure

Feb 22, 2017 04:33 AM
Rainmaker
1,768,146
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

Sure it's ok, in fact Real Satisfied does just that only it's a $10 coffee card. They have to up their game.

Feb 22, 2017 04:30 AM
Rainmaker
7,052,178
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

It is fine if it works for him. This offer would not appeal to me.

Feb 22, 2017 04:26 AM
Rainmaker
4,270,336
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

You ask "Why?".  I say "Why not?". 

Feb 22, 2017 04:24 AM
Rainmaker
4,400,776
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

I'm with Nina Hollander answer to your question.

Feb 25, 2017 10:14 AM
Rainmaker
5,338,311
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Everyone is asking for reviews EVERYWHERE, and I just delete or move on.  But in your case, hopefully they will with the benefit of a coffee card.

Feb 24, 2017 05:16 PM
Rainmaker
2,166,250
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

If it works for him, why not...

Feb 22, 2017 05:47 AM
Rainmaker
612,606
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

Nothing wrong with that!

Big businesses offer to put you in a drawing if you fill something out for them.

Eve

Feb 22, 2017 05:27 AM
Rainmaker
2,055,099
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Creative

Feb 22, 2017 05:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,245
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I don't see anything unethical about it.

Feb 22, 2017 05:16 AM
Ambassador
1,616,504
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

just a form of marketing

Feb 22, 2017 04:50 AM
Rainmaker
1,045,215
Dave Martin (703) 585-4687
Fairfax Realty - Fairfax, VA
Making Realty Dreams a Reality #WeWillGetYouHome

I don't see anything wrong with it.. if its not based on a good review then you are just compensating them a bit for their time.

Feb 08, 2018 08:43 PM
Rainmaker
1,559,728
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Yes, I agree. My phone repair guy gives $5 discount if you leave a Yelp review, he has 1000s of reviews! Little things can make huge difference. 

Feb 22, 2017 08:24 PM
Rainmaker
508,854
Susie Kay
Ultra Real Estate Dallas Fort Worth - Plano, TX
North Dallas Specialist

That's ok to me. Most people are too busy to write a review so this is to say thanks for your time. Of course, the review should be truthful.

Feb 22, 2017 05:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I would question the accuracy of these no matter how they are obtained

Feb 22, 2017 02:40 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

yes

Feb 22, 2017 01:25 PM
Rainmaker
5,580,934
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I don't see any problem with that...

Feb 22, 2017 12:01 PM
Rainmaker
4,362,208
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I think it is a good idea.  Pretty cheap for a testimonial.

Feb 22, 2017 11:08 AM
Rainmaker
4,347,548
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Interesting question,  Will have to see what others have to comment.

 

Feb 22, 2017 10:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,535
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Everyone has their own methods.  I don't concern myself with how others handle their own marketing operations.

Feb 22, 2017 10:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,431,861
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

This is VERY common outside of real estate.  I've had many "submit a review and be entered to win a $100 Amazon/Visa/Store/... gift card" emails from supplement companies and such.  Got a hat for leaving a product review at the Olympia Expo last year and later a shaker bottle and a t-shirt along with a bunch of samples to try and review (plus there was a contest with it).

 

I see nothing wrong with someone offering $5 for a review.  They aren't specifying that it has to be a positive one.

Feb 22, 2017 09:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Nathan Gesner Some people need an incentive to motivate them to submit a review. If it works, why not.

Feb 22, 2017 08:55 AM
Rainmaker
2,692,834
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Anyone can make up or influence character references, testimonials, reviews and all the rest making them suspect and over-played...case in point here

Feb 22, 2017 08:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,673,215
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Nothing wrong with this activity if it succeeds.

Feb 22, 2017 08:03 AM
Ambassador
3,987,010
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I think if he is sharing the bad with the good then it is an excellent way to get feedback. 

Feb 22, 2017 07:31 AM
Rainmaker
808,903
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with it, but for me personally it makes me a little uncomfortable.  I actually fill out survey and feedback forms almost any time they are sent to me.  But, I went to a new chiropractor on Monday and they were great.  4 star I'd say, only because they have some dingy furniture they need to replace and they have some significant misspellings on their website.  Those don't factor into my opinion of the doctor, but are bad impressions that I had.  I actually want to tell them about them.  However, they sent me an online request for a review and offered a free 30 minute massage for that review. I know they want a stellar review, not one saying they have dingy furniture & don't know how to spell and because they gave me an incentive I'm uncomfortable with the whole thing. I may do the review still and not accept the massage, but I'd have the review done already had that not been an incentive.  I doubt the majority of people over think it like I do though, I bet more reviews come in for the coffee card than if there weren't one, :-) Kasey

Feb 22, 2017 07:22 AM
Rainmaker
864,358
Les & Sarah Oswald
Realty One Group - Eastvale, CA
Broker, Realtor and Investor

I don't see a problem with it. They are asking for our valuable time to review. They are not asking only for A+ reviews. (There was a builder that will only accept A+ review, which I thought it was totally dishonest)

Feb 22, 2017 07:14 AM
Ambassador
2,609,588
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   I've given fast food gift cards to Tenants for agreeing to cooperate on showings.  It works.

Feb 22, 2017 07:04 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,732
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I don't see any problem with this.

Feb 22, 2017 06:57 AM
Rainmaker
946,423
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I don't have to bribe my customers for a review

Feb 22, 2017 06:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,386,578
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

What is his link, i could use a $5 coffee card...  the bottom line is he his buying good reviews

Feb 22, 2017 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
916,348
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Who doesn't like a cup of coffee?

I believe it is a gesture of RESPECT understanding that TIME is ones most valuable and squandered asset.

Most agents do the same thing, except we call it lunch, and is well above $5.

When CFO Publications asks me to complete their trends survey, participation comes with a $250 price tag.

Feb 22, 2017 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,185,164
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

It is $20-40 per review. Many restaurants and private business use these Craigslist professional reviewers.  

TV news caution against Yelp reviews most  ***** rave reviews are faked.

Feb 22, 2017 04:40 AM