Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,157,528
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Fred, I've been tempted but in reality it's the buyers and their agent's responsiblity to watch the dates. 

Jun 30, 2016 06:15 AM
Ambassador
1,445,719
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Up here, our contracts are written that the offer will be null & void without the inspection condition being fulfilled.  So yes, I would ask what date it is scheduled for.  This would help my Seller.

Jun 30, 2016 04:47 AM
Ambassador
3,162,054
Liz and Bill Spear
Transaction Alliance 513.520.5305 www.LizTour.com - Mason, OH
Transaction Alliance Cincinnati & Dayton suburbs

To be blunt, their problem, not mine.  There's language in our local contract, don't do inspections in the prescribed time frame and you lose that contingency.  They could yell and stomp their feet if they miss it, but they'd have no legal standing to breach the contract.  I'm staying quiet as the listing agent.

Jun 30, 2016 04:18 AM
Rainmaker
5,095,966
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I have been know to email a selling agent to ask about status of inspections and appraisals and to remind them that the due diligence period is almost over.

Jun 30, 2016 04:47 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,207
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Fred Griffin I have my responsibilities to my client and so does the selling agent to their client.

Jun 30, 2016 03:30 AM
Ambassador
6,350,068
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

As a good person, you should, but you do owe a responsibility to your client and your broker, so talk to them first, hopefully they will do the right thing too.

Jun 30, 2016 05:51 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

That isn't my problem or my seller's problem. If the buyer misses out and doesn't read the contract, then so be it. 

Jun 30, 2016 12:57 PM
Ambassador
1,021,723
Mimi Foster
Falcon Property Company - Colorado Springs, CO
Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor

NEVER NEVER NEVER. LEAVE IT ALONE!!!

Your fiduciary responsibility is to your Seller (as you said), and reminding the Buyer is not in the best interest of the Seller. We have many that come in on the last day.

Also, I think so much of this is area-specific. Here, if they miss the date, they have no recourse and they've missed it but can't back out.

Jun 30, 2016 12:38 PM
Rainmaker
1,153,744
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

Here if you do not meet the date the your option to inspect is waived. I don't expect any notifications when the shoe is on the other foot and I'm not about to start sending reminders to other associates about how to conduct their business.

Jun 30, 2016 11:20 AM
Rainmaker
2,809,749
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Fred - We're always hopeful they'll just forget that date, but they usually disappoint us by submitting an objection at the last possible minute, a practice we find really annoying.

Jun 30, 2016 06:08 AM
Rainmaker
637,434
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

Send out the waiver, that should get the buyers agent's attention!

Jun 30, 2016 05:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,027,602
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

It depends on the situation.  If your contract continues after the home inspection contingency period expires, with the buyer taking the property "as is" and you think the buyer is okay with that or has no other recourse for getting out of the contract,  then let it ride.  Too bad, so sad.

However, if this a house that is not likely to get another offer or a comparable offer very quickly, if the buyer has a way to get out of the contract on something else once they realize they missed their HI period - for example, in Virginia, during the HOA/condo doc review period - then it may be in the best interest of your seller to do whatever you can to see that this deal works.  

 

Jun 30, 2016 04:48 AM
Rainmaker
634,482
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

Like Nina Hollander I'll send them a reminder that the due dillegence deadline is approaching.

Jun 30, 2016 08:36 PM
Rainmaker
7,785,759
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

This may be a good idea when you have an inexperienced agent.

Jun 30, 2016 08:29 PM
Rainmaker
4,319,419
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Fred Griffin - usually, as a courtsey, I do like to remind the buyer's agent - though more of a reminder that do not expect the extensions...

Jun 30, 2016 04:48 PM
Ambassador
3,727,581
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@Properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

It would depend.  Our contingency periods are only a few days, so most agents don't need reminding.

Jun 30, 2016 03:29 PM
Rainmaker
2,219,617
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTAcondos.com
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I do not, it is the selling agents responsibility to do their job.

Jun 30, 2016 02:27 PM
Rainmaker
4,970,436
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

We have a negotiated option period for the buyer to have inspections and get back with their request for repairs. It's the Buyer's agent responsibility to make sure it happens within that time frame.

Jun 30, 2016 12:37 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,007
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Oh yes I do remind them and sometimes more than once. Inspectors are really backlogged. 

Jun 30, 2016 12:05 PM
Ambassador
3,580,719
Anna "Banana" Kruchten
HomeSmart Real Estate - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Fred I can't imagine reminding a buyers agent of the inspection timeline.  It's never been an issue....and if they screw up it's not going to be good for their buyers.

Jun 30, 2016 10:33 AM
Rainmaker
196,080
Jill Moog
Coast & Country Homes and Estates, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
Carlsbad, CA Homes for Sale

Fred, I would ask the buyers agent the status of the inspection as it would be in the best interest of the seller to keep them informed. Sometimes it is a sign the buyers are not sure about the house and do not want to spend any money on inspections.

Jun 30, 2016 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
5,189,410
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Depends on the contract language and condition of the home as I know it1

Jun 30, 2016 06:53 AM
Rainmaker
5,772,353
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Fred,

We stayed on top of it, regardless of the situation.  We did not want the seller to panic.  Our job was to make the deal happen regardless if we had to run the whole thing because of incompetence on the other side.  A

 

Jun 30, 2016 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
582,441
Dee Toohey
Innovative Realty Solutions Group - Longwood, FL
Broker, ABR, AHWD, CIPS, FMS, ePro

I'd leave it alone.  I email the contract with key dates outlined when it's signed by all parties.  It's the buyers agents responsibility to monitor their dates.  

Jun 30, 2016 05:09 AM
Ambassador
5,199,073
Debe Maxwell, CRS
Savvy + Company (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The RIGHT CHARLOTTE REALTOR!

Oh, hell no, Fred! I work for the sellers and it's in their best interest for the buyers to miss their inspection dates! It's not my job to keep up with their dates - it's their agent's job!

Jul 15, 2017 09:28 PM
Ambassador
3,338,624
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate Services

I remind when contingencies are due to be removed ... that's it. 

Jul 02, 2016 11:15 AM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

No, not really.  Once the inspection period is over, they have now agreed to accept the home in the present condition.

Jul 02, 2016 04:32 AM
Rainmaker
4,551,644
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena And Southern California 818.516.4393

Not my problem.  

Jul 02, 2016 01:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,722,426
Sandy Padula & Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Florida Realty Investments - , CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

No; if the selling agent is disorganized, too bad.

Jul 02, 2016 12:07 AM
Rainer
42,620
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

I like Bob Cranes answer. I too would inform my Sellers and Broker of the situation.

Jul 01, 2016 09:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,618,881
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I always follow a contract time-line. They have a certain number of days to conduct their inspections and investigations. If it passed and they did not ask about any extension and did not wave their rights, you know what that means...

Jul 01, 2016 05:25 PM
Rainmaker
979,296
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
HomeSmart - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Fred - I will remind the buyer's agent of things that may impact the eventual sale of the home, but if they miss the inspection period, that should not impact the closing, and will only benefit my seller. I guess it depends.

Jul 01, 2016 06:43 AM
Rainmaker
4,896,654
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I am with Silvia Dukes on this one.

Jul 01, 2016 01:58 AM
Rainmaker
986,652
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Not my responsibility

Jun 30, 2016 09:27 PM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Leave. It. Alone!

Jun 30, 2016 08:56 PM