Spam prevention
Ambassador
3,724,077
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Is there more than one?

What really matters is does they inspector do a good job and communicate well with my clients, both during the inspection and with the written report.

Jun 23, 2016 02:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,425,850
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

There are societies?  Seriously, didn't know.  Means didly squat to me.  The quality of the report and the inspection mean everything.

Jun 24, 2016 02:37 AM
Rainmaker
4,247,247
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I have heard of ASHI.

There is no state licensing board for home inspectors in California.  Past performance is most important criteria for recommendation.  

Jun 24, 2016 01:24 AM
Rainmaker
612,606
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

Don't have a preference for which group, but I do want them to have "extra" education...just like when I look for a doctor.

I want credentials and proof of insurance.

Eve

Jun 23, 2016 11:27 PM
Rainmaker
941,423
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

As long as the job is done well, I don't mind either way

Jun 23, 2016 10:06 PM
Rainmaker
1,760,239
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

Ashi is the one I've kown about. They are licensed in my state now.

I think it's like us belonging to NAR & I don't get any real benefits from that.

Jun 23, 2016 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
3,377,305
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Most people do not know the difference. They should do better in educating the public and agents as well

Jun 23, 2016 09:48 PM
Rainmaker
6,975,671
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

I do not know the differences. This will be a good blog topic for you.

Jun 23, 2016 08:55 PM
Rainmaker
2,810,281
Debbie Gartner
The Flooring Girl - White Plains, NY
The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers

I've only heard of ASHI.  That's what I see from the inspectors here.

Jun 23, 2016 08:31 PM
Ambassador
5,707,131
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Good question Fred, I will have to check to see what we have available here.

Jun 25, 2016 03:31 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I don't care as long as they do a good job

Jun 24, 2016 12:01 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,167
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

Home inspectors aren't licensed in my area. We are trying to get that changed. 

Jun 24, 2016 11:36 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,701
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I honestly don't know what the differences are.

Jun 24, 2016 05:22 AM
Rainmaker
4,335,829
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

There is state licensing in Texas.

Jun 24, 2016 04:44 AM
Rainmaker
4,440,940
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I've heard of both and have never thought about either. NC requires all inspectors to be licensed and bonded and that's what I look for. The state is very tough on inspector licensing here.

Jun 24, 2016 02:40 AM
Ambassador
1,616,454
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

The most accepted in my market is ASHI.

Jun 24, 2016 12:26 AM
Rainmaker
5,580,072
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

ditto to what Debbie said....

Jun 24, 2016 12:09 AM
Rainmaker
590,763
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

In California, home inspectors are not state licensed so it's important for them to belong to these associations so that there are some standards. Mostly what I go by, rather than a particular membership, is who has served my clients well in the past.

Jun 24, 2016 12:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,355
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

I am familiar with ASHI, not the others. I like to use home inspectors with the ASHI certification.

Jun 23, 2016 11:54 PM
Rainmaker
914,818
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

ASHI is the one I am familiar with.

Would/could/should a listing agent, protect the homeowner by prohibiting access to the property by an inspector from '2BuckChuck Association of Home Inspectors?"

You know who I refer to. "I found him on the internet and will do an inspections for two bucks."

I don't think these inspector associations matter any more than the Campbell's Alphabet Soup of letters agents buy to append to their name.

 

 

Jun 23, 2016 11:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,070,784
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

parked and reading

Jun 23, 2016 11:14 PM
Rainmaker
2,052,123
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Never analyzed it before

Jun 23, 2016 10:10 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,535
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Home inspectors are not currently licensed in my jurisdiction.  Some are members of various associations.

Jun 23, 2016 09:59 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I have heard of ASHI most often

Jun 23, 2016 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
634,382
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

I don't pay attention to the society membership. The quality and timeliness of the inspection is what really matters.

Jun 23, 2016 06:43 PM
Rainmaker
1,179,543
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Just a fancy  credential or professional membership. 

 

Jun 23, 2016 02:17 PM