Spam prevention
Rainmaker
915,973
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Not sure about buyers, but my current house was a nightmare for 10 years after finding the roof/chimney leaked since the house was build and never disclosed by any seller!

I did have a buyer found problems in the walls of a house - sued the seller and got the house for pratically free!

May 22, 2016 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
4,887,415
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I do too, and if a buyer opts not to do an inspection, I have them sign a form stating I strongly urged them to do one.

May 26, 2016 10:48 PM
Rainmaker
846,160
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Maybe. Even good home inspectors miss things, and buyers often overlook what they think were minor repairs figuring they would do them after they moved in. Well, small repairs ignored can turn into larger repairs later. It's not always easy to identify the date a problem began. Home owners need to stay on top of basic home maintenance. Warranties don't cover everything, and many homeowners fail to renew them.

May 23, 2016 09:52 PM
Ambassador
3,034,510
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

If they think it was fraud I suggest an attorney.  

May 23, 2016 02:46 PM
Rainmaker
4,061,295
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Stuff happens.   Discoveries are made upon moving in and  living in a home. Issues are dealt with as they are addressed.

May 23, 2016 03:37 AM
Ambassador
3,037,614
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

My clients that moved into new construction continue to find defects. The builder is working with some and pushing back on others. Of course, behind the scene there is me guiding my clients on how to proceed with the builder. 

May 23, 2016 02:25 AM
Rainmaker
3,971,743
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Still recommend a home warranty at all times.

May 23, 2016 02:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,456,827
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Peter Mohylsky Insure the buyers gets a home warranty. Things happen.

May 23, 2016 01:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,209
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I have have go to list and provide a home warranty.  I do not get involved when something breaks.....

May 23, 2016 01:44 AM
Rainmaker
2,634,487
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Yes to something popping up but nothing serious. Noted & forgotten

May 22, 2016 11:37 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Always recommend inspections.  Buyers decision.  After closing it's between Buyer, Seller and their legal counsel...

May 22, 2016 11:30 PM
Rainmaker
3,322,039
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

It really depends what they are, if the inspector should have found them, if they can be seen with the naked eye or if they are hidden?

May 22, 2016 11:18 PM
Rainmaker
882,707
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

At closing I provided them a subscription to Angie's List.

Depending on the nature of the 'defect' they  either pick up the pone and call Angie or their attorney.

May 22, 2016 10:28 PM
Rainmaker
1,635,742
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

If the buyer refused a home inspection, it falls to them. If a home inspection, the repairs may be covered by the home inspector. The ones we use do cover many of these issues.

May 22, 2016 10:10 PM
Rainmaker
6,546,134
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Home buyers are on their own after the settlement.

May 22, 2016 10:06 PM
Rainmaker
1,716,504
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Yep, have had 2 new houses & sometimes what happens just can't be fixed. These were all before the norm of inspections. I just went with the builder rep & somethings you just can't see.

Had a Master BR wall that was off by 1-2" on the 2nd sheet of drywall. The wall literally went inward at the corner seam by that much. When I notice it was after closing - it would have been too messy to fix redrywalling the entire room. Builder did offer to fix.

Other house was the sump pump & sewer pumps to the house were not sealed at all.  Used to turn on the AC & a sewer smell used to fill the house. All it took was some serious caulk & the problem was solved. Did take 2-3 months on investigative work.

May 22, 2016 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
1,214,259
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Some issues can't be caught in  a normal inspection, they have to be discovered through use. It does happen and do what I can to reverse engineer the responsibility and see it to conclusion and resolution.

I've had client discover plumbing issues mostly with the main sewer line after they move in and start running all the appliances in what was a vacant home prior to them moving in. If they waived the camera scope I recommend, I remind them it was offered. If it's something the inspector should have caught, I have the inspector call them directly and resolve.

 

May 22, 2016 09:42 PM
Ambassador
5,360,011
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Tell them that the deadline for forcing someone else to fix Their home was at closing.

May 22, 2016 09:32 PM