Annette  Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041, Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ  (ReMax Realtec Group)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
869,541
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Ask for pictures. No pics? Structural Pest Control Commission needs to know about this.

May 05, 2016 11:10 PM
Rainmaker
2,611,670
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Thing is it is only an opinion and in the end, there was work to be done

May 06, 2016 12:11 AM
Rainmaker
563,656
Jeffrey Jones
AZ Home Seekers - San Tan Valley, AZ
AZ Home Seekers, azhomeseekers.com

I would have a report from the termite company showing there is no active termite infestation.

May 05, 2016 11:44 PM
Rainmaker
1,727,290
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Make sure this home inspector does not come to any of my listings again.

May 05, 2016 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,841,575
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Get a second report for the next inspector.

May 10, 2016 11:59 PM
Rainmaker
791,216
Susan Laxson CRS
Palm Properties - La Quinta, CA
Local Knowledge & Global Network

I would follow advice already given here and then after I would make sure that the company who issued the false report, is reviewed on every site for their incompetence.

May 06, 2016 10:12 PM
Rainmaker
6,375,229
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Always verify.

May 06, 2016 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
907,123
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Get a termite inspection report - problem solved!

May 06, 2016 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Good luck.

May 06, 2016 09:09 PM
Rainmaker
625,405
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & Aliso Viejo

Ask for the repair request and use it to end the escrow.

May 06, 2016 04:56 PM
Rainer
2,400
polly peacock
Claire Richards Realty - West Chester, PA
Social Media Marketing Manager in cyber space!

Reassure the buyers of the situation and possibly do another home inspection at my expense if necessary.

May 06, 2016 12:57 PM
Ambassador
3,986,518
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Verify it with a licensed termite company. Boy that probably scared the buyer. Shame on the inspector and he needs to know.

May 06, 2016 10:50 AM
Rainmaker
1,362,398
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I'd see about reporting him to some control board.  I'd also not allow him to inspect any further houses of mine.  In CA the seller can refuse to let a specific inspector in.

May 06, 2016 07:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,510,463
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

To order your own termite report from an inspector with a good reputation. 

May 06, 2016 06:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,624,472
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Get another inspection from a different company. First remove the sticker placed by the original inspector(under the kitchen sink). Keep it for future reference when you get  a replacement buyer.

May 06, 2016 05:19 AM
Rainer
215,563
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL
Your Real Estate Partner

Report the inspector.  Probably bring in another inspector who can confirm the validity of the findings or at least an explanation.  That inspection report can then be shown to future buyers and give Seller comfort of knowing there are not any further issues.

May 06, 2016 04:33 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,347
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Get a second opinion.

May 06, 2016 04:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,356
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Not much you can do when the buyer has already backed out.  Though, I would certainly have a little discussion with this inspector and potentially report him to the licensing authorities.

May 06, 2016 03:28 AM
Rainer
69,538
Shawn and Angela Miller
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Amabassador Real Estate - Lincoln, NE
Lincoln and Omaha, NE REALTORS®

I would have gotten a second opinion from another termite company.  We've had this happen before because the first inspector was trying to sell the services of his buddy, the termite treatment guy.  Doesn't fly with me. 

May 06, 2016 03:15 AM
Ambassador
5,219,046
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Get a second report and an attny, but in todays market the place may be sold to another before a court date can be established so it will be hard to get a finding of damages.

So perhaps you may be better off to just let them run away.

May 06, 2016 03:09 AM
Rainmaker
832,318
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Many inspectors now use the phrase WDI Report, which means "Wood Destroying Insects".  I would just get another inspection done and go from there.

May 06, 2016 02:56 AM
Rainmaker
1,674,438
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Put that guy out of business... by any legal means possible!

May 06, 2016 01:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,698,248
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Did have an inspector yell the termite word on a house once & it turned out to be mud wasps. Another kiss of death word just like mold.

May 06, 2016 01:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,136,587
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

We have had numerous false reported defects...

Three brokers look at a window sill based on the report section 1 defect. The local association president looked at the newer vinyl windows and all agreed it was dirt not termites....

In CA dry rot is still considered a structure defect. 

May 06, 2016 12:52 AM
Rainmaker
5,371,906
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Annette,

Don't use that inspector again. A

May 06, 2016 12:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,445,227
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041 I would wait for the termite inspection. Termite inspections are mandatory here prior to the closing.

May 06, 2016 12:13 AM
Ambassador
4,495,522
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Move on. And use a different inspection company that is reputable.

May 06, 2016 12:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,379,764
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Sounds like inexperienced and presumptuous!

May 05, 2016 11:44 PM
Rainmaker
5,570,688
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

there's not much you can do except go on to the next one....and have a written report from a reputable pest inspector that reflects the true state of the home with regard to pest infestation...

May 05, 2016 11:31 PM
Rainmaker
4,024,990
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Hnadwritten in this day and age? Would provide the inspector with a copy of the real findings and say "will not need your services in the future"! And I would spread the word!

May 05, 2016 10:59 PM