Renee Paray, REALTOR (Coldwell Banker Preferred)

Spam prevention
Rainer
140,360
Richard L. McKinney P.A.
Atlantic Shores Realty Expertise - Port St Lucie, FL
For Results that MOVE you on the Treasure Coast!

You need to refer to the contract.

In Florida, the seller must make the property accessable for inspections. I would've called the seller or sellers agent and demanded that he make the property accessable. 

Apr 04, 2016 11:35 AM
Rainer
460,573
DEANNA C. SMITH CERTIFIED MOBILE NOTARY
Certified Mobile Notary Signing Agent - Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Highest Ranked Certified Mobile Notary in Virginia

The seller must provide access even if this means someone telling the seller they need to have their renter move items to allow for the access.   Having your agent call the listing agent would be the appropriate first step.

Apr 04, 2016 01:05 PM
Rainmaker
4,135,519
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

The seller needs to provide access..inspector will have to come back..seller needs to pay for the return trip.

Apr 04, 2016 12:26 PM
Ambassador
3,021,047
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I just move things if they need to be moved for an inspection.  

Apr 04, 2016 11:07 AM
Rainmaker
3,907,328
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I haven't had this issue, but you probably would need to have the owner call tenant and ask them to move their stuff away from the service panel and get the inspector back in to inspect, now at the seller's expense.

Apr 04, 2016 09:59 PM
Rainmaker
1,697,494
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Sounds hokey - get a different inspector & tell the buyer that is not normal procedure. Renters 'possessions' are in front of the panel? I usually move the stuff for the 'delicate' inspector so they can proceed.

Sometimes they won't move anything & then other times they go & wreck stuff to 'see behind' it. Go figure.

Apr 04, 2016 09:50 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

I have had this happen many times. I disclaim it and put it up to the seller to have the box inspected by a licensed electrician or have them pay me to come back out. My time is valuable too.

Apr 04, 2016 07:25 PM
Rainmaker
1,231,599
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Ditto " "  Dorie Dillard 

Apr 04, 2016 12:36 PM
Rainmaker
1,963,952
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

yes - you have to give the tenant time to move their stuff out of the way and extend the inspection period to allow the inspector to come back

Apr 04, 2016 12:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,837,837
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

Can't say I've had that exact scenario Renee Paray but I've had inspectors say it's not their job to move furniture and thus things did not get inspected.

Apr 04, 2016 10:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,596,476
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent

What? That is something.

Dec 07, 2019 04:00 PM
Rainmaker
2,062,259
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

Great answers for your question. 

Dec 07, 2019 03:36 PM
Ambassador
5,213,048
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Renters can be a problem, be prepared to move things, but notify them first.

May 14, 2017 10:01 PM
Ambassador
1,616,204
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

I would do a preinspection ahead of time to ensure all areas are cleared

Apr 01, 2017 08:07 AM
Rainmaker
4,735,500
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

If anything in the inspection is not able to be viewed by personal possession, I have asked the homeowner (or tenant) to move things, and schedule another time to view.

Apr 05, 2016 11:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,957,752
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes.   This is addressed in our purchase agreement.  Seller to make property available for buyer to inspect.   If I am representing the buyer, I contact the listing agent.  If I am representing the seller, I address this issue prior to the inspection.   

Apr 05, 2016 03:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,510,300
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

A tenant can not stop you from showing the property or inspecting, if you provided them with all notices of entry. ( at least, not in my hood).

Apr 05, 2016 03:37 AM
Rainmaker
2,610,722
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

With silk gloves and words with courtesy and gratitudes...

Apr 05, 2016 12:10 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

If necessary schedule another inspection after they remove the things.

Apr 05, 2016 12:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

What Richard L. McKinney P.A. said...

Apr 04, 2016 11:45 PM
Rainmaker
6,368,524
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

You need to make arrangements for access.

Apr 04, 2016 11:26 PM
Rainmaker
806,727
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Renters are always a pain; owners need to remind them of the terms of their lease, in which (one hopes) it specifies that they are to cooperate with possible showings.

Apr 04, 2016 11:11 PM
Rainmaker
869,141
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

If the buyer picked the inspector, it becomes their problem

If they used the inspector I recommended, the garage door is opened and things moved to gain access then returned to their original position.

If this is not my listing I look the listing agent in the eye and advise they roll up their sleeves.

House will not be insured without power panel inspection which also means no financing.

On one occasion it was a boat on a trailer. The owner was summoned to move the boat which did occur while inspector was crawling about.

Apr 04, 2016 10:53 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,347
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

The possessions are moved.

Apr 04, 2016 10:25 PM
Rainmaker
4,020,488
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I'll go with Michael Thorton from Complete Home Inspections, Inc's answer!

Apr 04, 2016 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

No. That would be a violation of our standard rental contract.

Apr 04, 2016 06:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,410,044
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Renee. Inspecting the electrical service is pretty basic and if that wasn't done, what else wasn't done? If that was not done, I would be looking for my money back.

Apr 04, 2016 05:19 PM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Renee Paray - not electrical panel but something else for sure. Like in rooms they 'hide' the stuff behind heavy furniture....

Apr 04, 2016 04:49 PM
Rainmaker
515,121
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

I would contact the Listing Agent and advise that an Amendment would be coming to extend our Inspection and require the seller to make sure all areas needed for inspection would be cleared so we could do an inspection without interruption of service.  

Apr 04, 2016 02:51 PM
Rainmaker
20,854
Jeri Creson
Jeri Creson, Realtor - Covington, LA
Dually Licensed Broker in Louisiana & California

It varies with the situation - but, ultimately how far things get pushed either direction will fall to the comfort level of fully disclosed risk on the part of both seller and buyer.   As an agent, I would advise the listing agent/seller of the seller's failure to make the property available for adequate inspection.  I would advise my client, in most situations to put a notice to perform in writing to clearly identify the seller's breach of contract in making the property available for full inspections, and in doing so, insist upon any re-inspection fees to be at seller's expense....This will also serve to document the file regarding any time frames for performance that might be in question.  Where it goes from there is the informed choice of the parties.   What I would never advise doing is to even suggest, or approve of a choice of a buyer to proceed without adequate inspection.  If the client choses to do so, I would carefully document my file in writing, advising the client that he/she is acting against the advice of broker in doing so. 

Apr 04, 2016 02:51 PM
Rainer
318,363
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Most inspectors I refer will send an email to me and the homeowner explaining the procedure and confirming the appointment time.  If for any reason there is an issue the homeowner will be charged a fee for rescheduling.  I'm sure they could let the renter know it's their responsibility to have the property ready for access.  Unhappy renters can be difficult to deal with. 

Apr 04, 2016 01:26 PM
Rainmaker
1,136,262
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Yes, access issues. You do what you can...

Apr 04, 2016 11:48 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,771
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I give a list to the agent of what we will be looking at and need to have access to.  If anything is not accessable, we will have to come back and that agents dime.   If he feels the renter is not going to cooperate, then he or she needs to wait until the renter moves out to lis the home

Apr 04, 2016 11:10 AM
Ambassador
2,545,974
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

      If the Electrical Panel / Circuit Breaker box is blocked (by tenant's possessions), that is an extreme safety hazard and potential fire hazard. 

    See a lawyer for legal advice about demanding immediate removal of the possessions.  Or, call your local Fire Marshall or Fire Department for assistance.

Apr 04, 2016 11:09 AM
Rainmaker
1,177,511
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Yes. We had to ask the owners to talk to the tenants and got an extension on the contingencies due to it. That was pre-TRID though. These days I'd say it was a deal killer is no cooperation; electrical is a big deal to inspect. I imagine the seller would be motivated to assist in the access.

Apr 04, 2016 10:59 AM