Spam prevention
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

"Should"? no  "Can they"? yes

Feb 26, 2016 10:18 PM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I agree with Anthony Acosta. Many of our properties are vacant and I don't regularly attend the inspections. Many buyers don't either.

Feb 26, 2016 09:34 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,205
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

In our market we dont usually attend the buyer's property inspection although I have known a very controlling agent to do that.

Feb 26, 2016 08:13 AM
Rainmaker
1,871,405
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

If the sellers ask you to be present, you follow their request no matter what anyone says or thinks.

Feb 26, 2016 07:57 AM
Ambassador
1,370,854
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

In my market, no.  In Quebec it is mandatory.  Different strokes for different folks.

Feb 26, 2016 05:19 AM
Rainmaker
4,060,514
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Should?  No 

Could?   Yes

Would?  Typically I make an appearance -- I may or may not stay the entire time.  

Yes, Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers - it depends.  

Feb 26, 2016 11:46 PM
Rainmaker
4,056,567
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

What does the listing agent add to the exercise?

Feb 26, 2016 10:40 PM
Rainmaker
4,159,339
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Sometimes yes and sometimes no! Let the circumstances dictate.

Feb 26, 2016 09:05 PM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

In special circumstances where the property has issues. Otherwise no.

Feb 26, 2016 04:32 PM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Caroline Gerardo - it depends. I attended only one home inspection as listing agent because the seller insisted on it. I prefer not to attend them.

Feb 26, 2016 03:36 PM
Rainer
318,713
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

I don't under these circumstances.  Inspectors can gain access and the buyers agent as well as buyer usually show up during the last 45 minuets. 

Feb 26, 2016 01:28 PM
Ambassador
3,722,438
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I'd say no.  It's the buyers' time with their new home.

Feb 26, 2016 01:24 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I don't think it is always necessary.  A lot will depend on the home and the circumstances of the sale.

Feb 26, 2016 08:49 AM
Rainmaker
580,941
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

No, unless the buyer wants it. This is the time that the buyer finds out what's up with the property without the listing agent running interference on behalf of the seller.

Feb 26, 2016 08:06 AM
Rainmaker
4,174,764
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

In our area the listing agent and seller should not be there. I know it differs across the country but even our Broker stresses not to go. The buyer is paying for all inspections and it is their time with their Realtor.

Feb 26, 2016 08:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,456,827
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Caroline Gerardo Not unless the seller requests it.

Feb 26, 2016 08:02 AM
Ambassador
4,558,329
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

No, unless the seller requests it. Could become a disclosure issue for the seller. It's pretty rare here, although sometimes the LA will show up for that last few minutes

Feb 26, 2016 06:03 AM
Rainmaker
597,169
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Caroline,

IMHO, never, never, never. If you or the seller, are concerned about the property have the sellers family or friends come guard the house.

 

Anything you see or hear during an inspection, even if it isn’t written up, becomes information you should almost certainly disclose. It may be the inspectors’ opinion or observation, not a fact. By attending (or receiving inspection reports) you risk doing harm to your seller.

Feb 26, 2016 05:28 AM
Ambassador
5,358,761
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Depends on how much liability they are interested in.

May 28, 2019 11:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,885,921
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

It is not customary for listing agents to be present in Denver while the buyer is doing their inspection.  

Feb 28, 2016 12:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,380,623
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Only if they're representing the buyers too!  Other than that, the LA has no business being at the inspection, other than to let the inspector in AND THEN LEAVE.

Feb 27, 2016 03:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,997,425
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Business decision.  I don't attend if I represent a buyer or seller.

Feb 27, 2016 03:33 AM
Rainmaker
424,605
Brenda J. Andrew
ULTIMA REAL ESTATE - Corpus Christi, TX
Professional Realtor in Corpus Christi, TX

I have always been advised to not attend any inspection as to not coerce the inspector.  The only time I would attend is if the client asked me to, or if the buyer was unable to attend and I was their agent.

Feb 27, 2016 12:05 AM
Rainer
23,428
JulieAnn King
RE/MAX Central- Freehold, Manalapan, Marlboro, Old Bridge - Freehold, NJ
Broker Associate - Freehold, Manlapan, Marlboro Re

 Most sellers expect some kind of feedback after the inspection is completed. So I usually show up towards the end to get a feel for how things went.

Feb 27, 2016 12:04 AM
Rainmaker
6,545,029
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

That is a personal decision for the agent.

Feb 26, 2016 10:51 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,583
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I always attend so that I know what  they are talking about when I receive the report.

Feb 26, 2016 09:33 PM
Rainmaker
3,321,571
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

The listing agent represents the seller, seeing any bad results will affect the seller, the listing agent should be there to see first hand what is going on. They should stay close, eyes and ears open but stay out of the way

Feb 26, 2016 09:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,485
FN LN
Toronto, ON

It is not common in my area.

Feb 26, 2016 04:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,514,405
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Yes, if the clients requests that or if property is occupied and has valuables. 

Feb 26, 2016 04:18 PM
Ambassador
3,034,400
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

only if the buyer's agent can't be there for some reason.

Feb 26, 2016 01:03 PM
Rainmaker
140,568
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

My MN Realtor association requires that either the buyers agent or listing agent be present for the inspection.  My WI isn't so strict if they have the means to enter the home

Feb 26, 2016 11:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,987,978
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

yes

Feb 26, 2016 10:56 AM
Ambassador
2,224,117
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I wouldn't do this. In my state if you know it you must disclose it, and being at the inspection could bring up somethings you might be better off not knowing about. 

Feb 26, 2016 10:12 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,837
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I do

Feb 26, 2016 09:07 AM
Rainmaker
3,428,475
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Caroline Gerardo It depends on the area if it is required.

Feb 26, 2016 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
1,231,599
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Great Q and lots of informative A's

Thanks for the asking Caroline Gerardo 

As listing agent I never attended inspection but many times as BA.

Feb 26, 2016 07:32 AM
Rainmaker
394,224
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

I generally attend, but I ask the buyer's agent if they mind.  

Feb 26, 2016 07:11 AM
Rainmaker
1,635,642
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Most definitely in case there are sny issues of access or the inspector has questions easily answered with a quick call to the seller

Feb 26, 2016 06:53 AM
Rainmaker
864,358
Les & Sarah Oswald
Realty One Group - Eastvale, CA
Broker, Realtor and Investor

I don't see the need for it. BA should be present as they represent the buyer and the buyer is paying for it. 

Feb 26, 2016 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
846,160
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Not usually, unless for some reason the sellers want them to be there. Just depends on circumstances.

Feb 26, 2016 05:58 AM
Rainer
8,968
Ashley Sanders
Golf Life Properties - Golden Gate, FL
Real Estate Sales

No, Buyers agent and buyer only, unless the Seller has requested and then it would be in the listing agents best interest to be there and quielty observe.

Feb 26, 2016 05:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

At some point. A lot of would just be sitting but getting the summary of inspection is important to attend.

Feb 26, 2016 05:35 AM
Rainmaker
1,398,208
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

It would only be at seller's request or I think there will be a problem!

Feb 26, 2016 05:28 AM
Ambassador
3,725,600
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

If my seller requests that I do!

Feb 26, 2016 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
640,077
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & Aliso Viejo

No, this is a time for the Home Inspector, Buyer and Agent to have the privacy to speak freely and discuss conditions without interuption.  It is unfair for anyone else to be present.

Feb 26, 2016 05:08 AM