Renee Paray, REALTOR (Coldwell Banker Preferred)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,721,855
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I do if I feel that the property needs it.

Feb 22, 2016 10:24 PM
Rainmaker
519,701
Greg Cremia
Shore Realty of the Outer Banks - Nags Head, NC

I have not seen it make a difference as buyers want to hire their own inspector. It is a trust issue.

Feb 22, 2016 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,347
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I talk to them about the possibility if I think that the home has not been maintained as it should have been.

Feb 22, 2016 09:06 PM
Rainmaker
846,275
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

No but its not a bad idea.

Feb 22, 2016 09:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,908,646
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Depends on the condition of the home and how maintained it has been.

Feb 22, 2016 09:19 PM
Rainmaker
2,062,259
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

For sure, we do 

Dec 02, 2019 09:33 PM
Rainmaker
1,596,476
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent

Always

Dec 02, 2019 08:28 PM
Ambassador
5,214,324
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I do it on mine.

May 24, 2019 09:55 PM
Rainmaker
1,965,125
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

yes

Feb 24, 2016 01:23 PM
Rainer
242,037
Richard Robibero, e-Pro, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

Depends if we are purposely underpricing it hoping for a bidding war in which people will forego their own inspections. And if we do a pre-inspection we will go with one of the major players.

Feb 24, 2016 08:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,562,074
Carla Muss-Jacobs, RETIRED
RETIRED / State License is Inactive - Portland, OR

As an Exclusive Buyers Agent who does not list property and/or represent sellers . . . my answer is, if I did, I WOULD encourage/recommend the sellers get a home inspection done.  And then, I would encourage/recommend the sellers FIX everything that comes up on their inspection report.

Feb 24, 2016 03:05 AM
Rainmaker
4,736,774
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Not usually, but we do talk about the main components and if there are issues, have them specifically inspected.    Sellers do not want to hear about a huge repair bill AFTER they have negotiated a sales price.  

Feb 23, 2016 10:58 PM
Rainer
390,369
Anna Hatridge
R Gilliam Real Estate LLC - Farmington, MO
Missouri Realtor with R Gilliam Real Estate LLC

Depends upon the sellers and the home. If I am working with investors who are flipping a home, Yes. It helps get it sold quickly.

Feb 23, 2016 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
831,848
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Sometimes. It depends on age and condition of the house. Buyers can still do their own inspection if they want.

Feb 23, 2016 09:14 PM
Rainmaker
4,021,668
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

If the condition warrants it, it will be suggested!

Feb 23, 2016 08:56 PM
Rainmaker
831,772
Peter Mohylsky. Broker Associate
Miramar Beach - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
THE BEACH IS OPEN AND WAITING FOR YOU

A very good idea, especially if the seller will tend to some of the items identified as being deficient.  It helps to get top dollar. 

Feb 23, 2016 08:32 PM
Ambassador
3,722,232
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I know one agent who did that, included a home warranty and sold the house sort of like a "certified pre-owned car".  

Feb 23, 2016 01:32 PM
Rainmaker
195,819
Jill Moog
Coast & Country Homes and Estates, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
Carlsbad, CA Homes for Sale

Yes, I think it is a good idea for the seller to get a pre-inspection. 

Feb 23, 2016 11:27 AM
Rainmaker
222,905
LuxurySoCalRealty San Diego
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

Joe is right because identirfied issues can often times be rectified in various manners and costs.  The seller can elect to decide.  Once the buyer is involved they demand either $ or can demand how item is repaired or even demand an item is replaced.

Feb 23, 2016 11:26 AM
Rainmaker
591,654
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Renee,
Absolutely not. Seller then has to disclose or fix anything that is found. If the seller already knows of a problem we’ll deal with that. But don’t go looking for trouble.

Feb 23, 2016 10:18 AM
Rainmaker
526,423
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

I recommend it and give them a laundry list of reasons why. I have also had buyers not perform their own after seeing the report and repairs made. In my opinion it is not a waste of money at all. Scrambling to get estimates for a RTR is more expensive than having time to repair beforehand.

Feb 23, 2016 09:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,435
FN LN
Toronto, ON

It depends on a variety of factors.

Feb 23, 2016 08:44 AM
Rainmaker
625,205
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & Aliso Viejo

No, never, it only complicates the sale.

Feb 23, 2016 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
806,827
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes, but usually to no avail.

Feb 23, 2016 05:53 AM
Ambassador
1,208,684
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

No.  I think it's a waste of money for the sellers.  99.9% of buyers have their own home inspections.  

Feb 23, 2016 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,444,927
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Renee Paray No, unless it is for their own information. I haven't heard of a buyer accepting a seller's inspection report.

Feb 23, 2016 05:13 AM
Rainer
357,700
Blatt + Cutino
Coldwell Banker Realty - Monterey, CA
Broker-Associate 831/206-8070*Call today*

I think that is always an excellent idea! Sometimes they take the advice and sometimes not. But, depending on pricing it is a good idea to discover any potential hidden isses and resolve them in advance or address them in advance with a potential buyer.

Feb 23, 2016 05:02 AM
Ambassador
3,001,727
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Absolutely ... and I explain in detail why it is important to do so.  Never had a seller not agree to to get inspections.

Feb 23, 2016 04:22 AM
Ambassador
3,642,709
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

It all depends on the need!

Feb 23, 2016 04:14 AM
Rainmaker
6,369,564
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

No. It could be good advice is many situations.

Feb 23, 2016 04:00 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,771
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

No, not unless I feel there are issues I can't see but get a feeling or the seller is possibly trying to hide something

Feb 23, 2016 03:28 AM
Rainmaker
140,518
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

It depends.  I like the pre inspection because if the buyer is given it ahead of time, they can't ask for the repairs later.

Feb 23, 2016 03:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,361,958
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Generally no.  It's never been a custom here.  It may become one with trid, but I doubt it.  Typically the buyer pays for the inspection and it's in their best interest to do so and choose the inspector.  If the house was really old, maybe to head off any possible seller credit negotiations or to adjust the list price accordingly.

Feb 23, 2016 02:54 AM
Ambassador
2,306,818
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

I recommend it if the home condition is questionable just to find out about issues ahead of time so the seller can get busy addressing them prior to listing.

Feb 23, 2016 02:12 AM
Rainmaker
572,970
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

Every potential buyer should do his own anyway and not rely on one that the seller has done. But I may suggest it if the owners are out of town and hadn't seen it themselves recently, especially if tenants were involved.

Feb 23, 2016 02:00 AM
Rainmaker
3,958,595
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Typically.  

Feb 22, 2016 10:49 PM
Rainmaker
1,136,268
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Nop. Most want agents to pay for most reports and repair work sometimes here.....  You pay for it they cancel the listing.

Feb 22, 2016 10:31 PM
Rainmaker
2,610,913
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Actually we do our own walk-thru and repair accordingly

Feb 22, 2016 10:30 PM
Rainer
150,166
Michael Thacker - Re/Max Real Estate Center - Louisville
Re/Max Real Estate Center - The Thacker Group - Louisville, KY
Your best friend who just happens to be a Realtor

I haven't but if there was doubt, I would suggest it.

However, depending on the situation, my suggestion to clients is "if it is broke, you may want to fix it". Though, I do suggest asking me first, because some things don't need to be fixed, in this market especially.

Feb 22, 2016 10:29 PM
Rainmaker
3,333,274
Sally K. & David L. Hanson
EXP Realty 414-525-0563 - Brookfield, WI
WI Real Estate Agents - Luxury - Divorce

It is not "usual and customary" here ..if we spot a particular issue...we encourrage a visit from a specialist kind of contractor...foundation, electrician, etc.

Feb 22, 2016 10:22 PM
Rainmaker
1,624,172
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Only in extreme cases when sellers refuse to recognize serious issues that will prevent a sale of the home.

Feb 22, 2016 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
3,873,651
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Sometimes.  Depends on a visual inspection of the property.

Feb 22, 2016 10:00 PM
Rainmaker
2,013,870
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Rarely  

Feb 22, 2016 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
1,231,599
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Relocation companies require all inspections be done before listing.  Results are available for review by potential buyers

Feb 22, 2016 09:26 PM
Rainmaker
869,141
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Yes.

Most certainly when I observe they can not "SEE" what I am pointing out.

If they still choose their own way, the 'contengencies & strategies' must be more clearly defined.

A voice that is not mine that has no skin in the game seems to be heard better.

Feb 22, 2016 09:16 PM