Lyn Sims, Real Estate Agent Retired

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,398,250
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Nov 24, 2015 02:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,291,156
Gene Mundt, IL/WI Mortgage Originator - FHA/VA/Conv/Jumbo/Portfolio/Refi
NMLS #216987, IL Lic. 031.0006220, WI Licensed. APMC NMLS #175656 - New Lenox, IL
708.921.6331 - 40+ yrs experience

No matter who ends-up paying, someone should have alerted the Seller or their representative that the window got broken.  That was the first .. and right thing to do.  JMO ... but as a former appraiser, if this would have happened while performing my work, I'd have offered to pay.  Just makes sense business and marketing wise to me.  Acting like it didn't happen won't get you any future work, that's for sure ...

Gene

Nov 24, 2015 04:38 AM
Rainmaker
175,514
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

No sure how things work there, but here in AZ the home inspector would be responsible for damage.  I work with one of only 6 master certified home inspectors in the state of Arizona and he makes a point of being careful when conducting inspections to the point does not move sellers belongings or personal property without permission, will not turn on a water shut off for example too hard as to damage it and etc.

Regardless, someone should have called the listing agent to report the damage at the very least.  I would have sent a disclosure notice in writing.

Nov 24, 2015 01:53 AM
Rainmaker
860,815
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It depends. Was the window " rigged" in with scotch tape by the owner? if so, the owner can pay. if it was working properly and inspector broke it being careless , the inspector should pay.

Nov 24, 2015 01:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,621,476
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

You bet, the inspector should belly up to the bar and pay

Nov 24, 2015 12:42 AM
Rainmaker
1,413,394
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

The buyer is liable for damages caused by their inspectors in CA.  I'd imagine the buyer would turn to the inspector to fix it.

Nov 24, 2015 08:47 AM
Rainer
216,063
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL
Your Real Estate Partner

The inspector's work created the damage, so their insurance should cover that.  In our contracts, the Buyer is responsible for making any repairs to damage done during inspections.  Buyer will have to go after inspector.  However, I would also add that I find it odd attending agent was not aware of this and keeping an eye on the inspector or asking for summary at close of inspection.  I would never leave home without run down from inspector, so buyer and I could look at what was discovered/damaged. 

Nov 24, 2015 03:17 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,651
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

In the Florida contract, the buyer is responsible for any damage from an inspection.  Though, I agree with you and think that the inspector should be the one paying for this.

Nov 24, 2015 03:10 AM
Rainer
42,470
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

Tell the Home inspector to report the damage to his Liability insuror. In the alternative have the homeowner get a repair estimate and send it to the inspector. Your next step depends upon the response you get.

Nov 24, 2015 02:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,429,516
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

I also say the inspector and he probably has insurance to cover it.

Nov 24, 2015 01:30 AM
Rainer
90,555
Val Evans
Scottsdale, AZ

Invoice the inspector! Any inspector worth their weight would know that over the years the hangers and clips for storm windows become loose and may even be missing in come cases. He should have known to handle the window(s) with kid gloves, especially on an older home. The fact that he didn't immediately notify the owner or agent is inexcusable!

Nov 24, 2015 01:22 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,135
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

There is not enough information to make a good decision and this should be your brokers responsibility to handle this.

Nov 24, 2015 01:12 AM
Rainmaker
908,513
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Stuff happens. We all know that. But the owner needs to be made whole.

Of course the inspector is responsible. But to what extent? Read the fine print. There is a limit to the inspectors exposure. That is where 'accountability' becomes incredibly important. 

(Example) So what is the replacement value of a 50 year old aluminum storm window whose frame is pitted and scaled by 50 years of exposure to the elements?

This inspector and perhaps the company, if owner not fully restored, should be placed on 'THE LIST." Then be sure to share the experience if they don't make it right.  

Assurance of exposure and accountability is what changes behavior. 

 

Nov 24, 2015 01:09 AM
Ambassador
1,831,383
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

That's inexcusable!  The fact he didn't tell the client immediately is VERY bad.  In this case, I think he should buck up.  

If it had fallen out as a result of improper installation, had he told them right away, I think it would have been open for discussion and negotiation.  

Good luck with that one!

Nov 24, 2015 12:46 AM
Rainmaker
912,465
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Lyn - Here in Arizona, it specifically states that the buyer is responsible for all damages that occur during a home inspection. With that said, I would imagine that any credible home inspector would own up to breaking something and offer to pay for it. 

Nov 25, 2015 10:18 AM
Rainmaker
3,070,584
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

In AZ Buyer is responsible to Seller (specified in contract) for any repairs needed due to damage caused by inspection.  Whether the Inspector has to reimburse the Buyer would depend on the agreement between the Buyer and the Inspector, and would not be anything to do with the Seller.

Nov 24, 2015 10:57 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

let us know how it was resolved.

Nov 24, 2015 08:36 PM
Rainmaker
4,416,459
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

The inspector should pay if the window was in normal operation. If not, another question!

Nov 24, 2015 08:01 PM
Rainmaker
2,759,637
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good Wednesday morning Lyn. It depends. I've had garage doors break when I push the button to open them. Was it my fault? No! It just decided to give up the ghost at that time. It  Is company policy to notify all parties involved. Mechanical things break. We do write up an incident report.

Nov 24, 2015 05:26 PM
Rainmaker
2,488,872
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Lyn. It is surprising that the home inspector didn't contact listing and selling agent that the person cause the damage and that the person would pay for the repair.

Nov 24, 2015 05:18 PM
Rainmaker
2,442,558
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I would think the inspector would be responsible.  My home inspector would absolutely take responsibility.

Nov 24, 2015 12:46 PM
Rainmaker
530,685
Gary Coles (International Referrals)
Venture Realty International - Las Vegas, NV
Latin America Real Estate

I definitely feel the inspector is responsible.

Nov 24, 2015 12:15 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,167
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

See what your state contract says. In ours, the person doing the inspection is responsible for any damage done as a result of that inspection. 

Nov 24, 2015 10:56 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,355
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

I would definitely think the home inspector was responsible.

Nov 24, 2015 10:38 AM
Rainmaker
5,164,598
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Definitely give the buyer's agent a call to see what happened, and go from there. 

Nov 24, 2015 08:01 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

It should have been reported. also, if the seller knew about it he pr she should have notified someone.   But I think it should be the inspector

Nov 24, 2015 07:22 AM
Rainmaker
3,610,258
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Lyn, this is very good important question.

Nov 24, 2015 07:17 AM
Rainmaker
5,764,585
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Lyn,

Definitely the inspector.  What were they thinking in not letting you know? A

Nov 24, 2015 04:46 AM
Rainer
140,460
Richard L. McKinney P.A.
Atlantic Shores Realty Expertise - Port St Lucie, FL
For Results that MOVE you on the Treasure Coast!

refer to the purchase agreement. it should say who is responsible. if florida its the buyer.

Nov 24, 2015 04:41 AM
Ambassador
5,613,317
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I would suggest that the home inspector should be responsible but I do enjoy Susan's cartoon, so maybe we should blame the dog.

Nov 24, 2015 04:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,172,489
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

The inspector is. In CA I think it will cover more than the inspection cost.

In otherwords he will issue the rpt for free.

Nov 24, 2015 04:23 AM
Ambassador
3,888,744
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

I think it horrible that the incident wasn't reported but before taking sides I would want to know the particulars Lyn Sims. It seem strange that a window falls out without cause. Was the house vacant? 

Nov 24, 2015 03:30 AM
Rainmaker
4,212,846
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Typically, the buyer signs an agreement with an inspector for the service so the possible answer might be found there.   I do recall one such instance -- and my client hired a no-frills inspector for a bank-owned property and the window broke -- the inspector didn't pay and I made sure the window was replaced.   That inspection company was never recommended by me and never will be.  

Nov 24, 2015 03:25 AM
Rainmaker
612,606
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

What if the neighborhood kid threw a ball and busted out that window 5 minutes before the inspection?

Was the inspector really screwing with that window?

Just yesterday we had a builder rep scream at our inspector for "damaging" the gutter with his ladder...the inspector was not even on that side of the house and absolutely did not do it.

Unless somone saw the inspector do it, maybe the storm window was staying in place with a hair pin and a gust of wind disturbed it.  I remember one time opening a closet and the door fell off...sorry, not my fault (although I did tell the agent)

Eve

PS: Don't blame the inspector unless there is proof...and just in Sept there was a window medic painting and fixing the windows?  I say it was probably him.

Nov 24, 2015 03:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,659,405
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Ultimately the person who contracted with the home inspector. Most purchase contracts spell out that the buyer is responsible for any damage inflicted on the property due to the inspections ordered by the buyer. It is up to the buyer through their agent to pursue compensation from the home inspector.

Nov 24, 2015 03:11 AM
Rainmaker
5,573,163
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

if the storm window was not already compromised, then it IS the inspector's place to replace it....

Nov 24, 2015 02:30 AM
Ambassador
3,037,957
Ed Silva
Mapleridge Realty, CT 203-206-0754 - Waterbury, CT
Central CT Real Estate Broker Serving all equally

If the client witnessed it as well, then the inspector should take full responsibility.  I have had agents call me with complaints and no one was even near what was reported

Nov 24, 2015 02:18 AM
Rainmaker
6,858,038
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I like the solution offered by Jeff Pearl

Nov 24, 2015 02:10 AM