Anonymous

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,172,264
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Is it OK to contact a married attractive woman going out at night without going through her husband?

Nov 19, 2015 12:27 PM
Rainmaker
397,250
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

It's out of line.  All communication should be between the agents unless otherwise instructed or authorized. 

Nov 19, 2015 11:27 AM
Rainmaker
530,685
Gary Coles (International Referrals)
Venture Realty International - Las Vegas, NV
Latin America Real Estate

It is not appropriate conduct.

Nov 19, 2015 11:40 AM
Rainmaker
3,070,584
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

It depends.  If the reason for obtaining the information is for the buyer agent to attempt to circumvent the listing agent and interfere with the listing agreement between the Listing Broker and the Seller, and they obtain the information and then proceed to interfere, it would be "breaking the rules".  If the buyer agent wants the information for their records, but takes no action with that information that interferes with the listing or the relationship between the listing broker and the seller, and uses it only in the event that the listing has expired, then having the sellers email address means they will likely be the first to the party of the chorus of agents pursuing the expired listing.  As I recall, the "rules of the road" mention that while one should never interfere with an existing contractual relationship, one is free to pursue discussions about other possible transactional opportunities not related to the existing contractual relationship...

Nov 19, 2015 10:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,541,748
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Depends. I've seen plenty of private remarks with direct sellers' information to schedule an appointment. I always thought it is odd. 

Nov 19, 2015 03:36 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,406
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

I don't do it.  Have the seller's agent be the middle contact....Always!

Nov 19, 2015 12:28 PM
Rainmaker
292,585
Jack Lewitz
Exit Strategy Realty - Evanston, IL

I think it's not appropriate conduct . There are proper channels that should not be ignored and that channel is to contact the listing agent 

Nov 19, 2015 10:56 AM
Rainmaker
2,007,110
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

there is everything wrong with it. There are certain channels of communication - and that is not one of them. 

Nov 19, 2015 10:42 AM
Ambassador
3,986,910
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

It is not considered appropriate in my market area. We don't go directly to the seller but always through the listing agents.

Nov 19, 2015 10:24 AM
Ambassador
1,569,453
Karen Fiddler, Broker/Owner
Karen Parsons-Fiddler, Broker 949-510-2395 - Mission Viejo, CA
Orange County & Lake Arrowhead, CA (949)510-2395

Not if it's to confirm an appointment or if something happens and you need to cancel. Yes, if it's to interfere with the listing.

Nov 19, 2015 10:22 AM
Rainmaker
5,764,120
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Aa a listing agent, I would read you the riot act.  It is not proper etiquette.  A

Nov 19, 2015 10:18 AM
Ambassador
1,398,045
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

They can ask but I hope they know the answer will be NO!  That is what Listing Agents are for.  If any BA contacted my Seller, I'd let rip!

Nov 19, 2015 09:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,432,032
Gene Riemenschneider
Home Point Real Estate - Brentwood, CA
Turning Houses into Homes

Nope all contact should be through the agents.  

Nov 28, 2015 05:00 AM
Rainmaker
1,413,224
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Out here it is common to see "call seller to set an appointment."  That is an acceptable use case.  Otherwise, the other agent should NEVER contact the seller directly.

Nov 20, 2015 08:41 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Well, I can see why this is an anonymous poster

Nov 20, 2015 07:11 AM
Ambassador
5,611,043
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Depends on how much you want to piss off the local real estate community.

Nov 20, 2015 05:42 AM
Rainmaker
912,365
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

I would say that it is not the thing to do in the real estate industry. There are proper channels to follow, and the buyer's agent should communicate with the seller's agent. If the seller's agent says it is okay to contact the seller directly to call and make a showing appointment, then it is okay because you went through the proper channels.

Nov 20, 2015 04:22 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,651
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

It's not done around here, unless there are some extenuating circumstances.

Nov 20, 2015 02:11 AM
Rainmaker
175,514
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

No.  Communication should go thru the agents that represent the seller.

Nov 20, 2015 12:53 AM
Rainmaker
838,492
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Buyer agents should work via the listing agent, not the listing agent's client.

Nov 20, 2015 12:38 AM
Ambassador
3,724,022
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Not necessarily - especially if the seller is working with a limited service brokerage.  If there is any need to change or cancel the appointment, they need a contact to call.  And that's generally the seller.

Nov 20, 2015 12:07 AM
Rainmaker
5,573,163
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

the buyer's agent should go through the listing agent and/or the listing agent's method of making an appointment to see/show....no need to have the seller's #

Nov 19, 2015 11:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

It is wrong. You should communicate through the listing agent.

Nov 19, 2015 09:30 PM
Rainmaker
908,303
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Yes.

It is like your best friend asking your date for their telephone number.

Nothing can go wrong...right?

 

Nov 19, 2015 09:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,209,159
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

Yes.  Everything is wrong with that if you're being represented by a buyer's agent.  Any communication needs to be between buyer's agent and seller's agent.  Period.  My two cents.  

Nov 19, 2015 09:21 PM
Rainmaker
4,221,210
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

That would be very un ethical, unless instructed to do so by the listing agent.

Nov 19, 2015 09:03 PM
Rainer
42,470
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

I can see no reason why a Buyers Agent would need to contact my Seller directly. I would have a big problem with that. Everything should go through me and I specifically tell my Sellers this and also indicate this in my Agents remarks in MLS etc..

Nov 19, 2015 08:09 PM
Rainmaker
2,759,637
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good Friday morning. I think it would be best to contact their agent not the seller directly.

Nov 19, 2015 05:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,609,123
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

This is a very good question.

Nov 19, 2015 01:13 PM
Rainmaker
789,481
Bob Force (REALTOR®)
Weichert Realtors - Aspen Hill - Mount Airy, MD
The FORCE in Maryland Real Estate

There is NO reason for a BA to be asking those questions directly of a seller.

But, on the other hand the listing might instuct you to call the seller to get clearance for a preview.  That in my opinion is a lazy LA wishing you to do their work. 

Nov 19, 2015 12:55 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,535
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Some agents have filed complaints with the regulator for interference with a contract with another brokerage.

Nov 19, 2015 12:23 PM
Rainmaker
3,621,476
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

You can try around here.  However the answer you would get I will not repeat in this forum

Nov 19, 2015 11:24 AM
Rainmaker
3,368,106
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Yes it is wrong unless the listing agent is dumb enough to have buyer agents call their seller direct to set up showings. Then they set themselves up for such actions. Other wise buyer agent should not talk to seller.

Nov 19, 2015 09:33 AM
Rainmaker
2,224,167
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

This doesn't happen in my market. All communications go through the agent. 

Nov 19, 2015 08:14 AM
Rainmaker
412,993
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I can see where this behavior might be considered to cross a boundary.

Nov 19, 2015 08:11 AM
Rainer
231,174
Mike Rock
Complete Design - Granite Bay, CA
Granite Bay Luxury New Construction...For Less

wrong? i would say why...then i say no. the agents are there for a reason. if the agents are that bad that they are in the way....fire them... unless the seller is a professional (like as a builder clients will email me a question) my responses are ALWAYS copied into any agent in the deal.

Nov 19, 2015 08:11 AM
Rainmaker
611,419
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Don’t let the listing agents poor service, having you contact the seller for an appointment, get you into trouble. Don’t ask.

Nov 23, 2015 09:15 AM