Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,604,436
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

If I have the seller I tell them the inspector is there to trouble shoot and find things.  If I have the buyer I tell them to be there and ask as many questions as they wish.  

Aug 26, 2015 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
778,856
The Woodland Team of Texas
The Woodland Companies - Austin, TX
Land Specialists

Far too many think that an old home should be up to the condition of a New home.

 

Dec 07, 2018 11:04 AM
Ambassador
5,707,131
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

"You are buying a used home, and paying for a used home, dont be surprised that their will be a few defects, hopefully you can live with them as the previous owner did.

Jun 10, 2018 07:55 AM
Rainmaker
4,247,247
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Michael - I'm not sure of the number but there are unrealistic expectations for many parts of the real estate transaction.  Proper expectations should be discussed as soon as possible when meeting a client.  

Aug 26, 2015 11:47 PM
Rainmaker
6,975,671
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Reviewing possible results in advance helps all of the parties through this phase of the process.

Aug 26, 2015 11:45 PM
Rainmaker
699,177
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

I tell them that inspections here are visual only.  No one but an a/c person is going to open it up.  Temp range at this moment in time, only.

Aug 26, 2015 10:20 PM
Rainmaker
5,580,072
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

infra red sees the unseen.... we explain that home inspections are for structural and mechanical defects.... no home is perfect.... 

Aug 26, 2015 10:14 PM
Rainmaker
2,009,455
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

I tell my clients that every home inspector should find the important things but will always miss a few of the unimportant things because there isn't time to get everything or see behind walls- 

Aug 26, 2015 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
4,440,940
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I think they all have unrealistic expectations to some degree about both the inspector and condition of homes. I try to prepare my clients that nothing can ever be 100% perfect and known about, but they "forget" 5 minutes after I've told them.

Aug 26, 2015 08:52 PM
Rainmaker
1,136,256
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

X-ray vision does have its advantages Michael. Infrared is also a great trait.

Aug 27, 2015 04:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,386,585
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Sometimes it's experience - they need to have lived through it to understand it. 

Aug 27, 2015 12:00 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Michael Thornton Education! Always expect the unexpected. That's why we have inspections.

Aug 26, 2015 11:15 PM
Rainmaker
914,818
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

I have already advised the seller what will be found and remind them of the strategy in place.

There will be NO surprises.

However, I do advise that rogue inspectors exist who have other issues in life and their OPINION only has the value the SELLER gives it, not the buyer.

I further advise, 'Stay the course and you will prevail."

Aug 26, 2015 10:36 PM
Rainmaker
115,420
Jeanne Feenick
NextHome Premier - Basking Ridge, NJ
The Agent you choose REALLY does make a difference

From first outing I try very hard to manage expectations. In spite of my efforts, I am finding that expectations seems especially inflated now, perhaps because of lack of general urgency with buyers and a feeling of buyer leverage.  In any case, it is certainly frustrating.

Aug 26, 2015 09:26 PM
Rainmaker
590,763
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

I make sure that my clients understand the limitations of a home inspection. For example, if they are worried about the roof, that will need a separate roof inspector. Same thing with dry rot, it will need a pest inspector who will actually open a wall to see what's going on, whereas a home inspector does not. However, a home inspector can tell you generally the condition of the home and I always strongly advise it.

Aug 26, 2015 09:11 PM