Spam prevention
Rainmaker
627,158
Martin Kalisker
Greater Boston Association of REALTORS - Boston, MA
Professional Standards & Legal Assistant

I serve as the Chairperson of the Professional Standards Committee for the Greater Boston Association of REALTORS and have previously served as Chairperson of the Grievance Commitee for the Board.  The responses that you've received thusfar are not surprising - agents see what they perceive to be unethical behavior but don't want to say anything because they are afraid of disrupting a transaction or the behavior is not any worse than what is common practice amongst other agents.

 

As REALTORS, we have a Code of Ethics and a Code of Excellence that we all should be abiding by and always putting our clients interests ahead of our own.  That said, the first step is to bring the suspect behavior to the attention of your broker.  Let them know about it.  Let them be part of the decision making process.  If they find the behavior to be problematic, they can speak to the broker on the other end of the deal.  Often times the issue will be corrected.  If it's not, you have every right to file a complaint with your local Board's Grievance Committee within the appropriate time frame.

 

If your Board offers mediation services or for non-REALTORS, I encourage agents to take advantage of mediation as another form of dispute resolution.  In lieu of bringing up another agent up on formal charges of a violation of articles of the Code of Ethics, mediation can smooth over ruffled feathers and help out with ensuring that agencies continue to cooperate and work together, despite past disputes.

 

Jun 23, 2015 04:38 PM
Rainmaker
5,579,429
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

no, it's a waste of time.... if someone is unethical, that's not going to change with a complaint....they will always be unethical....

Jun 23, 2015 09:45 PM
Rainmaker
4,305,044
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I have not; however would not hestitate to file one.

Jun 23, 2015 09:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,549,705
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I haven't. But I often want to. I do add a note for myself try to stay away from such agent.

Jun 23, 2015 04:51 PM
Rainmaker
921,762
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
HomeSmart - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Evelyn - I have not had to file an ethics complaint, and hope that I never have to.

Jun 23, 2015 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,167
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I haven't done this, and I hope I don't have to. 

Jun 23, 2015 03:26 PM
Ambassador
3,071,692
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

nope, but I have reported 3 to the real estate commission for license law violations.  I always went to the agent first, then the broker before reporting. But if they continue to do what could have been an innocent mistake after being told they can't do it.... and their broker doesn't stop it... yup, reported.

Jun 23, 2015 02:38 PM
Ambassador
5,703,432
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

No but there have been times when I thought that one should have been filed.

Jun 23, 2015 02:01 PM
Rainmaker
1,771,542
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

No but a listing client of mine is filing a complaint against an agent who entered his condo when was told not to. He is in some trouble.

Jun 23, 2015 01:59 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,701
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Not yet.

Mar 11, 2019 07:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,136,116
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

I've been tempted but haven't as of yet.

Jun 23, 2015 11:26 PM
Rainmaker
458,062
Brenda J. Andrew
ULTIMA REAL ESTATE - Willis, TX
Professional Realtor in Corpus Christi, TX

I have not but have come close.  Instead I told the Agent's Broker about the situation.  The Broker took up for the Agent although the Agent was clearly in the wrong - leaving an A/C turned down to 60 degrees and leaving all of the windows in the house open.  The temperature outside was probably in the 90's at the time.  I just made a mental note and kept moving forward.  The Agent is no longer in business.

Jun 23, 2015 10:31 PM
Rainmaker
4,437,778
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

No... but I've filed a few other complaints, like using my pictures or floor plans without permission, like going into a home without an appointment.

Jun 23, 2015 10:17 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No. I am on the grievance committee and do see a few complaints.

Jun 23, 2015 09:25 PM
Rainmaker
2,507,310
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Evelyn. I have not, I like to handle any issues myself and can usually get to a resolution.

Jun 23, 2015 06:14 PM
Rainmaker
2,009,439
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

No. 

Jun 23, 2015 02:28 PM
Ambassador
4,316,065
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Evelyn Johnston almost did it - however, just stopped short as it would hurt the transaction!

Jun 23, 2015 02:24 PM
Rainmaker
699,177
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

Came real close about a year ago.

Jun 23, 2015 02:02 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,406
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

No, but there were times when I had to bite my tongue.

Jun 23, 2015 01:48 PM